(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page click below for 

AD Rates 

Big race coming up at your track contact us for a low rate so your track will be on every page on this site.



No "Thunder" in Port Royal, track drops MACS race

By Jeff Geesey

INDIANA, PA (July 9, 1999) - The Mid-Atlantic Championship Series is announcing an important and significant schedule change for the "Thunder in the Mountains Tour V." The Saturday, July 24 show, previously scheduled for Port Royal Speedway in Port Royal, Pa., has been canceled by the track management. Without sufficient time to find a replacement and afford that promoter the proper opportunity to advertise the event, Saturday's program will unfortunately sit idle. This cancellation doesn't affect the other three nights of Speedweek.

The "Tour," reduced to a three-night mini-series, begins Thursday, July 22, at Scott Farley's Tyler County Speedway in Middlebourne, WV. Tyler's 50-lap, $5,000-to-win race is the Beecher Eaton Memorial, in honor of the late elder statesman of the Ohio Valley.

Friday's stop is at Ron and Thelma Nielson's Raceway 7 in Conneaut, Ohio. The July 23 show also pays $5,000-to-win for the 50-lap event. The Nieslon's are ardent supporters of the Series and are a welcomed addition to Speedweek.

Saturday, now an off night for the drivers, affords them an opportunity to regroup prior to the Sunday finale at Jack and Donna Lentz's Challenger Raceway in Indiana, Pa. Challenger's event is always an all-out shootout for bragging rights of winning the final show of Speedweek, as well as the coronation of the new Speedweek champion. Challenger's event is 50 laps and pays $5,000 to win.

As previously mentioned, each night of the "Tour" consists of 50-lap contests paying $5,000 to win from the $20,000 in awards available. Total purse for the three nights is $60,000. One driver could conceivably win $15,000. Each driver, not advancing to the A-Main will receive $100 tow money. The nightly entry fee is $50.00 for each of the three events.