(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page
FOR FREE click below for 

Free Advertising until 2000



Home           Tracks           Sanctions           Drivers    News & Stories   Pictures         Links            Guestbook          Contact Us


                                                               July 31, 1999 

Fairbury IL

Drake Dominates Driscoll Motors/Schroeder Firestone Special.

Billy Drake, aboard the Mark Steidenger Construction/Wells Family/Ultimate Detail Shop/Creative Kitchens & Bath/ Larry Shaw Race Car, jumped to the lead at the green flag, and never looked back. Drake, who started on the pole of the 50 lap race, took the lead on the start, and proceeded to run away for 50 laps, in a return to his home track. Chasing Drake to the finish line were Steve Hillard in the Budda Enterprises/Tatmans Towing/FS Fuel Stop/Mastersbilt, Bob Pohlman Jr., in the Schroeder Firestone/Fox Valley Excavating/Friedman Racing Inc./Larry Shaw, Bob Thoennes, in the TNT Trucking/ Warrior, and Joe Harlan in the Rabe’s/Jerry Pick Motorsports/ Rayburn. Sixth through tenth were Mike Mullvain, Doug McCammon,Gary May, Richie Hedrick, and Jay Sparks. Only the top 5 were on the lead lap. A scary accident involving 1996 UMP Champion Tony Izzo Jr., resulted in a probable broken right wrist, when his Jeff’s Enginemasters, BART Wheels/Rhyne Racing Engine/ GRT, made contact with the front stretch wall,and climbing into the fence. Apparently while aiborne, Izzo’s hand got caught in the steering wheel, and it broke his wrist, though at this time, it has not been confirmed. Other news included surprise visitor, Bryan Dunaway, who piloted the #8 owned by Tom Peltonen. Dunaway, who now works for Darrell Waltrip, and the Travis Carter Racing Team, was the second car to drop out of the feature. Fast Time was set by Sadorus IL driver Steve Hillard, besting the other 27 cars in attendance. The trophy dash resulted in a win for Roger Long, though in the end it was a loss, as he burned a piston in the process. The heat races were won by Billy Drake, Joe Harlan, and Mike Mullvain. The semi-feature was captured by Mark Anderson.


1.Billy Drake

2.Steve Hillard

3.Bob Pohlman Jr.

4.Bob Thoennes

5.Joe Harlan

6.Mike Mullvain

7.Doug McCammon

8.Gary May

9Richie Hedrick

10.Jay Sparks

11.Ron Donaldsen

12.Reese O’Connor

13.Kevin Paul

14.Everett Bradham

15.Mark Anderson

16.Tony Izzo Jr.

17.Bob Freeburg

18.Ron Bohm

19.Bryan Dunaway

20.Jeff Thrasher

Results provided by Darin Stewart