(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page
FOR FREE click below for 

Free Advertising until 2000



Davenport IA.
July 11, 1999   
by Darin Stewart
Moyer rides again!!!!
As tough as Billy Moyer Jr., is anywhere in the country, it seems as if he turns it up a notch when he gets back to his home state of Iowa.  Sunday night was no different than many others this past week, as Moyer took home yet another Summernationals win, and the $10,000 prize. 
Just as in what seems to be the normal story line, of Moyer taking the lead at the halfway point and winning, there were a few changes this time.  Rick Aukland, in the 10-10-220/GVS/Jerry Lathon's RV/Rocket, jumped to the lead and lead until lap 25,when Moyer worked his way around. Moyer lead until lap 32, when the caution flew for Ed Dixon who flipped his Althoff Trucking/ Casey's General Store/Dupont/Rayburn in turn 2.  On the restart, a bizarre event took place.  Going into turn 3, Aukland hit the gas, and passed two lapped cars, and Moyer, and pulled away.  The green flag flew, and Aukland took the lead.  Many people felt that the start was not going to last, however since it was announced in the drivers meeting, that the race starts when the yellow light goes off, Aukland took full advantage, and took off.  However, the J&J Steel/Watters Autoland/Karl Chevrolet/GRT of Moyer, reeled the leader in and passed him on lap 39 to negate the restart, and then proceeded to pull away.  Shannon Babb in the 10-10-220/G&C Enterprises/Triple A Diesel Service/Rayburn, finished third. Brian Birkhofer, in a red Mastersbilt that had no sponsor decals in place ran fourth followed by Bob Pierce in the Murphy Trucking/Da Bar/Valvoline/Mastersbilt, who ran a strong fifth.
Sixth through tenth consisted of Tony Izzo Jr, John Mason, Jay Johnson,Curtis Roberts, and Kris Patterson.
Feature Finish
BIlly Moyer Jr.
Rick Aukland
Shannon Babb
Brian Birkhofer
Bob Pierce
Tony Izzo Jr.
John Mason
Jay Johnson
Curtis Roberts
Kris Patterson
Johnny Johnson
Ted Loomis
Bob Dominacki
Bert Cheathem
Everett Bradham
Ray Guss Jr.
Bob Helm
Tom Hearst
Ed Dixon
Robbie Starnes
Matt Miller
Darren Miller
Notes:  Billy Moyer Jr, must win one more to claim the $100,000 bonus, as apparently the stipulation is more than 9 wins, unless more rainouts....Ed Dixon who flipped his Rayburn in turn 2, was okay, and the car suffered primarily cosmetic damage.  Ironically, Kenny Merchant flipped his car in nearly the exact location in the recent Hav-a-Tampa show....The Semi-Feature ended witha a strange finish, as apparently Pete Parker mistakenly pulled off following the white flag, causing many front runners to slow down as well, which stacked everyone up at the finish..Robbie Starnes, driver of the B&M/ Ricks Furniture Store/GRT, finally seemd to work his way out of his bad luck, if only momentarily.  Starnes, who had been third in the semi, the past three nights, just missing the feature, qualified for the feature through his heat race.  Starnes, who started 17th, had charged up to 7th on lap 12, broke a rear bar on the suspension of his GRT, to contiune the bad luck..The car count (34) was the lowest since Macon on Thursday.  Fast TIem was set by Bob Pierce, and Tony Izzo Jr, ran away with the dash.  Heat winners were; Curtis Roberts, Ray Guss Jr., and Bob Pierce.  The semi feature finished with Bob Helm winining