(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page
FOR FREE click below for 

Free Advertising until 2000



  Home           Tracks           Sanctions           Drivers    News & Stories      Pictures         Links            Guestbook          Contact Us



(Orrville,OH 7-31-99)
 Chub Frank of Sugar Grove,PA scored his second STARS National DirtCar
Racing League sanctioned victory of the season Saturday leading all but the
first lap of the $6,000 to win "3rd Annual Buckeye Classic 50" at Wayne
County Speedway in Orrville,OH. Frank, who started fifth aboard the Corry
Laser Technology/Rocket Chassis/Draime Racing Engines No. 1* Frank Racing
Chevrolet Monte Carlo, powered into second at the end of the first lap and
rocketed past Mark Banal the next time around and checked out on the field
taking the checkered flag with a nearly two second advantage over Mike
Balzano. Steve Shaver rode home in third with 15th starting Ryan Markham
fourth and Dave Wirt fifth. Completing the top ten finisher's were Dick
Barton, 19th starting Todd Andrews, 23rd starting Bart Hartman, Gary
Stuhler and 21st starting R.J. Conley.

 Pole sitter Banal led the first lap of the event with Frank, Stuhler,
Balzano and Donnie Moran trailing. Frank powered past Banal using the
outside groove in turn four to lead lap two and was never threatened from
then on. Frank quickly pulled out to a three car length margin over Banal
as Shaver cracked the top five the next circuit as Stuhler started to back
up. Before another lap could be completed the race's first of four caution
periods slowed the pace when Bill Povlinko spun in turn three. Frank opened
up some distance on Banal on the restart but the man on the move was Moran
who shot past Balzano for third on lap 6 and then took second from Banal
the next lap. However, contact between Moran and Banal saw Moran suffer a
flat left rear tire bringing out the caution before lap 8 could be
completed. Moran headed pitside for new rubber and returned to the race at
the back of the field. One lap after going back to green the caution waved
again when Banal slowed and dropped from the race with steering problems,
the result of the contact with Moran. The restart order now showed Frank
with the lead followed by Balzano, Shaver, Dave Berkey and Wirt with
Markham now sixth.

 Frank again pulled away on the restart as Markham worked his way into
fourth by lap 10. Balzano and Shaver had a great side-by-side race for
second going for several laps until Berkey who had fallen back to seventh
lost the handle in turn three on lap 24 collecting Rob Blair who was
sitting tenth. That was the race's last yellow flag allowing Frank to slice
his way through lapped traffic with ease on the multi-grooved ultra-smooth
surface. Balzano felt pressure from Shaver several times over the remaining
26 caution free laps but Shaver could never find the power to make the
pass. Frank, who had lapped up to the eleventh place car, took the
checkered flag as Balzano raced into turn three.

 Owner/promoter Wayne Phillips pushed the STARS portion of the show ahead of several companion division race's due to severe weather in the area.Light rain began to fall on the feature pace lap's but quickly went away as ominous dark clouds threatened and lighting flashed across the sky during
the feature event which took the green flag at 8:20 pm and checker flagged
at 8:50 pm. The $27,000 purse event drew 42 driver's to the semi-banked
3/8ths mile with Frank setting quick time at 17.630 seconds. BORLA EXHAUST
heat race's fell to Frank, Shaver, Steve White and Wirt. The SCOTT
PERFORMANCE WIRE Heat Race Bonus went unclaimed. Banal grabbed the ISKY RACING CAMS dash while Nolan Dalton topped the PRO SHOCKS "B" Main.

STARS National DirtCar Racing League Race Report for (7-31-99)
Race No. 21-1999 Season-"3rd Annual Buckeye Classic 50"
Wayne County Speedway-Orrville,OH-3/8ths Mile Oval
$27,000 Purse-$6,000 To Win-50 Lap Feature

(Showing Finish Pos.,Start Pos.,Car #,Driver,Laps,Purse,Reason Out)

1. (5) #1* Chub Frank 50 $6,040 Running
2. (3) #E1 Mike Balzano 50 $3,560 Running
3. (7) #30 Steve Shaver 50 $2,000 Running
4. (15) #5M Ryan Markham 50 $1,500 Running
5. (6) #991 Dave Wirt 50 $1,235 Running
6. (10) #28B Dick Barton 50 $1,000 Running
7. (19) #42 Todd Andrews 50 $950 Running
8. (23) #75 Bart Hartman 50 $850 Running
9. (2) #19 Gary Stuhler 50 $880 Running
10. (21) #71C R.J. Conley 50 $800 Running
11. (4) #99 Donnie Moran 49 $750 Running
12. (18) #33 Aaron Scott 49 $700 Running
13. (13) #21 George Lee II 49 $600 Running
14. (17) #D2 Nolan Dalton 49 $600 Running
15. (16) #96F Keith Berner 49 $500 Running
16. (11) #40 Dave Berkey 48 $450 Running
17. (12) #07R Brent Rhebergen 48 $400 Running
18. (20) # 4 Mark Osburn 48 $400 Running
19. (24) #32L Greg Lucas 45 $400 Cooling
20. (14) #W11 Rob Blair 28 $350 Handling
21. (22) #75G Don Gross 23 $400 Handling
22. (9) #27P Bill Povlinko 23 $350 Handling
23. (8) #11R Steve White 19 $350 Suspension
24. (1) #T8 Mark Banal 8 $450 Steering

TIME OF RACE: 30 Mins.
YELLOW FLAGS: Four-Laps 4,7,8,24
LAP LEADERS: Two-Banal 1;Frank 2-50
OUTERWEARS CO. "Hard Charger of the Race": Hartman
FAST QUALIFIER: Frank 17.630 secs.
BORLA EXHAUST Heat Race Winners: Frank,Shaver,White,Wirt
SCOTT PERFORMANCE WIRE Heat Race Bonus Winner: None
ISKY RACING CAMS Dash Winner: Banal
PRO SHOCKS "B" Main Winner: Dalton


Qualifying: 1)#1* Chub Frank 17.630; 2)#E1 Mike Balzano 17.897; 3)#99
Donnie Moran 17.940; 4)#991 Dave Wirt 17.972; 5)#19 Gary Stuhler 17.973;
6)#T8 Mark Banal 18.063; 7)#21 George Lee II 18.076; 8)#75 Bart Hartman
18.125; 9)#07R Brent Rhebergen 18.143; 10)#30 Steve Shaver 18.235; 11)#34
George Delaney 18.249; 12)#71C R.J. Conley 18.297; 13)#27P Bill Povlinko
18.297; 14)#5M Ryan Markham 18.299; 15)#11R Steve White 18.342; 16)#OZ
Charlie Osborn 18.351; 17)#93T Jeff Esbenshade 18.372; 18)#75G Don Gross
18.385; 19)#16 Chet Alexander 18.416; 20)#40 Dave Berkey 18.451; 21)#W7
Thomas Ware 18.456; 22)#28 Mike Mizer 18.540; 23)#28B Dick Barton 18.567;
24)#96F Keith Berner 18.607; 25)#81 Blaine Aber 18.614; 26)#14C Corey
Conley 18.628; 27)#17 Charlie Duncan 18.634; 28)#W11 Rob Blair 18.638;
29)#4 Mark Osburn 18.672; 30)#42 Todd Andrews 18.794; 31)#81jr Matt Bee
Aber 18.856; 32)#61 Jesse Wardell 18.881; 33)#19B Allan Baker 18.917;
34)#14 J.R. Gentry 18.950; 35)#33 Aaron Scott 18.968; 36)#3 Thomas Baker
19.049; 37)#32L Greg Lucas 19.139; 38)#80 Bryan Durig 19.296; 39)#27 Ted
Allman Jr. 19.561; 40)#21M Wes Morrison 20.877; 41)#007 Rick Bond NT;
42)#D2 Nolan Dalton NT

BORLA EXHAUST Heat #1: Frank,Povlinko,Rhebergen,Stuhler,Osburn,
B. Aber,A. Baker,Lucas,Bond,Esbenshade,Ware (Top 4 advance to feature)
BORLA EXHAUST Heat #2: Shaver,Banal,Balzano,Markham,Dalton,
Gross,Andrews,Mizer,C. Conley,Durig,Gentry (Top 4 advance to feature)
Barton,Lee II,Moran,Scott,Delaney,Duncan,Alexander,Allman Jr.,M. Aber
(Top 4 advance to feature)
BORLA EXHAUST Heat #4: Wirt,Berkey,Blair,Berner,Wardell,T. Baker,
Hartman,Osborn,NS-R.J. Conley,Morrison (Top 4 advance to feature)
ISKY RACING CAMS Dash: Banal,Stuhler,Balzano,Moran,Frank,Wirt
(Finish determines first three rows of feature)
PRO SHOCKS "B" Main: Dalton,Scott,Andrews,Osburn,R.J. Conley,Gross,
Ware,Wardell,Delaney,B. Aber,M. Aber,Lucas,C. Conley,Bond,Allman Jr.,
T. Baker,Duncan,Durig,Gentry,Esbenshade,Mizer,A. Baker,Osborn,NS-
Hartman,Morrison (Top 6 advance to feature)