(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page click below for 

AD Rates 

Big race coming up at your track contact us for a low rate so your track will be on every page on this site.



 Home           Tracks           Sanctions           Drivers    News & Stories   Pictures         Links            Guestbook          Contact Us         

           Silver Spring Speedway

7 August 1999

Steve Inch    Speedway/Promoter 717-766-7215  Media Relations 570-523-8420



MECHANICSBURG, PA - Carmen Perigo, Jr. of Stoystown won his fifth Super Sportsman feature of the season in Saturday night’s 25-lap Mike Irwin Tribute event at Silver Spring Speedway.

The win marked the tenth of Perigo’s career at the track, which was worth a $1,273 bonus coordinated by the Irwin family in memory of the late Mike Irwin who raced a Super Sportsman and succumbed to Hodgkin’s Disease two years ago.

Perigo, whose win tied him with Bob Fannasy this season, announced he was going to donate his bonus money to the American Cancer Society.

Jeff Leiphart of Mt. Wolfe made a last-lap pass by Ed Jones to capture his second 20-lap Late Model feature win of the year, while Tom Swanger of Enola and Phil Claussen of Oak Brook, Illinois, were winners of the Vintage Stock Car features.

Silver Spring Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, August 14 with a two division show consisting of Super Sportsman and Street Stocks. The Street Stocks will be featured in the annual Street Stock 40.

Outside front row starter Dave Ort powered into the lead at the start of the Super Sportsman feature. Ort was chased by fourth-place starter Bobby Hockenberry for the first seven laps, when the event’s first caution flag unfurled.

For the lap eight restart, Donnie Beaver, who started tenth, passed Hockenberry for second and set his sites on the leader. When Beaver swept underneath Ort in turn four on the eighth lap, however, misfortune struck when the two cars collided.

At this point, Hockenberry inherited the lead with 14th-place starter Carmen Perigo in second. When the race resumed, Perigo made a charge on the high side of turn two and came away with the lead on the ninth lap.

At the same time, 15th-place starter Bob Fannasy advanced to second and began to reel in the leader, while 19th-place starter Pat Cannon stormed into third.

In the final laps, Perigo began to pull away from Fannasy and posted the victory by nearly a straightaway. Fannasy settled for second, while Cannon, 22nd-place starter Rich Eichelberger and 12th-place starter Ken Carberry rounded out the top five.

Eichelberger was named the Timber Wolf Racing Hard Charger.

Polesitter Tommy Reed led the first lap of the Late Model feature until second-place starter Eric Gable moved into the front spot.

Gable’s lead, however, was shortlived when fourth-place starter Ed Jones powered into the lead after making a pass between two cars in turn four. Jones quickly stretched his lead over Gable and 13th-place starter Gene Wrightstone.

On lap eight, Wrightstone moved into second and set his sites on the leader. With eight laps remaining, the event’s final caution flag unfurled and set the stage for an exciting war on wheels between Jones, Wrightstone, 12th-place starter Jeff Leiphart and 19th-place starter Mark Billet.

On the final lap, it was anybody’s race in the lead pack. Coming off the final corner Leiphart put his racer on the low side and edged out Jones by less than a car length for the checkered flag. Jones finished second, while Billet, Wrightstone and 15th-place starter Jim Bernheisel completed the top five.



Super Sportsman - 55 Entries

25-Lap A-Main (Mike Irwin Tribute): 1) 2A Carmen Perigo 2) 1 Bob Fannasy 3) 93 Pat Cannon 4) 8 Rich Eichelberger 5) 47 Ken Carberry 6) 340 Smokey Snellbaker 7) 66 Leroy Martin 8) 3 Frankie Herr 9) 12 Howie Locke 10) 49 Bob Howard 11) 7M Russ Mitten 12) 22 Mark Billet 13) 28 Keith Prutzman 14) 69 Bob Hockenberry 15) 55J Ron Janney 16) 50 Jerry Wolfe 17) 25S Joe Renecker 18) 42 JR Fry 19) 55H Tom Haxall 20) 14 Chris Reed 21) 91 Lanny Hake 22) 6 Rod Adams 23) 11L Tim Leiphart 24) 44 John Garman 25) 41 Dave Ort 26) 10 Donnie Beaver

Heat Winners: Dave Ort, Jerry Wolfe, Rod Adams, Donnie Beaver, Ron Janney

Consolation Winners: Howie Locke and Rich Eichelberger

Late Models - 34 Entries

20-Lap A-Main: 1) 91 Jeff Leiphart 2) 29 Ed Jones 3) 22 Mark Billet 4) 10 Gene Wrightstone 5) 119 Jim Bernheisel 6) 15 Jason Covert 7) 43 Ron Little 8) 25 Tom Blackwell 9) 41F Gary Potts 10) 51 Dave Graber 11) 78 John Ebersole 12) 2 Scott Richwine 13) 43A Tommy Reed 14) 41G Eric Gable 15) 21 Butch Campion 16) 116 Charlie Kope 17) 0 Larry Baer 18) 1W Billy Wampler 19) 75 Scott McCann 20) 9 Carl Graves 21) 11 Dave Sokoloski 22) 33 Harold Beinhower 23) 2M Dave MaGilton 24) F1 Jim Shuttlesworth

Heat Winners: Eric Gable, Jason Covert, Jeff Leiphart

Consolation Winner: Mark Billet

Vintage Stock Car Club - 27 Entries

15-Lap A-Main (Top 10 Only): 1) 45 Tom Swanger* 2) 60 Bryan Brooks 3) 21JR Phil Barkins 4) X Phil Claussen** 5) 49 Tom Martin 6) 7 Clark Bartholomew 7) 71 Willie Brymesser 8) 94 Mike Martin 9) 77 John Miller 10) 28 Sonny Ritter

(*Denotes Vintage Modified Winner **Denotes Vintage Sportsman Winner)

Heat Winners: Larry Felty and Tom Swanger