(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page click below for 

AD Rates 

Big race coming up at your track contact us for a low rate so your track will be on every page on this site.



Home           Tracks           Sanctions           Drivers    News & Stories   Pictures         Links            Guestbook          Contact Us


By Judy Gower
(724) 329-0306

MARKLEYSBURG, PA..Greencastle's D. J. Myers made his return to Roaring Knob Raceway Park a triumphant one as he drove to a convincing win in Sunday's late model feature.The Maryland Minerals "Pedal to the Medal  Pure Stock 20"  special event went to Dilliner's Wayne Jordan, and Jeff Davis from Somerset picked up his first feature win in the DWARF cars.
    D.J. Myers overtook newcomer Ricky Thomas for the lead on the third lap of the late model main, and once in front quickly checked out from the field.  Meanwhile, tenth starting Jeff Thomas and eleventh starting Tom Myers were on their way forward.  (Tom) Myers's run ended the next lap as contact with an out of shape competitor forced him to retire from the event.  With the green back out, D.J. once again assumed command, and Thomas continued his pursuit of Myers, making a daring move taking him from seventh to third.  Two circuits later he got by Corey Conley for second, and pursued the leader as the laps wound down.    Myers, however, maneuvered masterfully through lapped traffic, and easily scored his second win of the season at the Knob.   Thomas crossed the line in the runner-up spot with Conley third, and current points leader Bob Wearing Jr. fourth, while Rob King rounded out the top five.  Heat race wins went to Jeff Thomas and D.J. Myers.
   Six time Roaring Knob feature winner, Wayne Jordan, and nine time
Pittsburgh's PA Motor Speedway winner, Al Atallah, shared the front row for
the start of the special "Pedal to the Medal Pure Stock 20".  Jordan
immediately grabbed the lead  with Atallah and fifth starting Jack
Rosenberger  in hot pursuit.  The race went non stop for eighteen laps
through heavy traffic until the caution came out for  Bob Nelson.  This set
the stage for a two lap shootout, but Jordan was determined, and at the
checker it was the 6J of Jordan picking up win number seven in a close finish over Atallah and Rosenberger.  The top three machines were powered by spec engines.   Jimmy Shaffer finished just ahead of  Bart Tressler for fourth;and completing the top ten were Scott Herring, Greg Hauger, Scott Spade,Jason Gibbs and Marshall Coleman.  The three heat race winners were Atallah,Jordan, and Shaffer.
   The DWARF cars once again gave the fans a show as they sliced and diced
their way around the 3/8th oval.  Last week's winner, John Cogar, charged
through the pack from the back, and had race long leader Davis in his sights
as the laps were winding down.  A yellow for a spin reset and closed up the
field for the final two circuits, but  Davis  managed to hold off the veteran
Cogar for his first DWARF car win at Roaring Knob.  Greg Shingleton crossed
the stripe in third with Eric Hay fourth , and Eric Stoltz right behind to
complete the top five.  W. L. Stile and Davis were the heat race winners.
   Only two more Sundays of racing remain on Roaring Knob's schedule, and
September 5 is shaping up to be an exciting one.  A regular program of Ken
Nicholson & Sons Lumber Late Models, Country Charm Pure Stocks and Stone
House Restaurant DWARF Cars will be in action along with the Lowe's of
Uniontown sponsored "Croushore's Demolition Derby" qualifier that pays $300
to win plus trophies and cash prizes for second and third place.  Gates open
at 2pm with racing set to start at 4pm, and the demo derby will begin
immediately following  the race program.  Bringing the curtain down on the
1999 season will be the King of the Knob 40, $2000 to win, late model
special, on Sunday, September 12.  Hover Racing will be sponsoring the "Pure Stock 20 Wild Thing" invitational, and the DWARF cars will be running their "Buzz the Knob" special event.   Race time on the 12th is 4pm with the gates opening at 2pm.  Details regarding  the demo derby qualifier being held on September 5th  can be obtained by calling (724) 737-5055, or contact the track office at (724) 329-0306 for demo or any additional information regarding the racing programs.


Heat Winners:  Jeff Thomas, D. J. Myers
Feature:  D. J. MYERS, Jeff Thomas, Corey Conley, Bob Wearing Jr., Rob King,Bill VanMeter, Ricky Thomas, L.C. Powers, Ron Reese, Jim Stangry, Chris Conner, Tom Myers

Heat Winners:  Al Atallah, Wayne Jordan, Jimmy Shaffer
Feature:  (Pedal to the Medal 20 Lap Special) WAYNE JORDAN, Al Atallah, Jack Rosenberger, Jimmy Shaffer, Bart Tressler,  Scott Herring, Greg Hauger, Scott Spade, Jason Gibbs, Marshall Coleman, Jeff Keener, Steve Sickles, Chuck Capana, Brian Taylor, Mike Kepple, George Hilliard, Bob Nelson, Mick Slaubaugh, Mike Bloom, Charlie Bittinger, Robbie Howell (DNS), Joe Fullerton (DNS), Al Jenkins (DNS), Jim Byers (DNS), Jim Bendishaw (DNS)

Heat Winners:  W. L. Stile, Jeff Davis
Feature:  JEFF DAVIS, John Cogar, Greg Shingleton, Eric Hay, Eric Stoltz,
Jeff Barclay, W. L. Stile, Tom Showman, John Mollick, Billy Boo Bauer, Frank Dunkle, Jr., Lynn Knepper