(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page click below for 

AD Rates 

Big race coming up at your track contact us for a low rate so your track will be on every page on this site.



Home           Tracks           Sanctions           Drivers    News & Stories   Pictures         Links            Guestbook          Contact Us

      Interstate 79 Speedway

Results for 8-27-99
Contact Dixie Phillips   Phone 724-569-4821  Fax  724-569-0436

New Faces In Victory Lane at 1-79

 As fog blanketed Interstate 79 Speedway on Friday evening, the Season
Championship feature races became known as Fog Fest '99.  Visiting
victory lane for the first time this year were Chuck Harper
, Skip Hare,
Pat Frazier, and Tom Simpson, while Shawn Davis was the only repeat

 Chuck Harper took advantage of his outside front row starting position
to jump into the lead of the Shinnston Plumbing late model feature ahead
of Nolan Dalton as they came to the green flag.  Dalton raced Harper for
the first 13 laps until he slipped and allowed cousin Gary Dalton to
take over the second spot.  Harper came home to the checkered for the
first time this season ahead of G. Dalton, Butch McGill, N. Dalton, and
Greg Lemley.  Six through ten were Chad McDougal, Frank Wilson, Doug
Horton, Danny Hamrick, and Robbie Scott.  Nolan Dalton is the 1999
points champion in the Shinnston Plumbing late models.  Heat winners
were N. Dalton, Harper, and Paul Wilmoth, Jr., who was driving the Frank
Wilson, Jr. car.

 Skip Hare inherited the lead with only two laps to go as leader Josh
Adams lost a wheel.  Hare won his first ever I-79 feature in the semi
late division as he bested Duane Moreland, Steve Wilmoth, Rick
Strickler, and Tim Senic.  Strickler defended his points championship of
last year.  Winning heats were Adams and Scott Chenoweth.

 The UMP modified points battle went right down to the wire as Vic
Vandergrift held a tiny 10 point advantage over Dave Defibaugh going
into the night's racing.  With the awarding of double points, Defibaugh
placed one position ahead of Vandergrift and claimed the title.  The
feature event, however, went to Shawn Davis who picked up his fifth win
of the season.  Davis was followed by Ron Parrish, Mike Lewis, Defibaugh

and Vandergrift.  Taking the prelims were Davis, Lewis, and Vandergrift.

 The pure stockers, who were unable to lift the fog as the late models
and semi lates, found Pat Frazier emerging the winner for the first
time.  Frazier was followed by Gary Yost, Gary Britton, Jim Byers, and
Randy Bohan.   Byers claimed the pure stock points title.  Heat winners
were Byers, Pat Frazier, and Lloyd Frazier.

 For the first time in I-79 history, a truck was in the winner's circle
as Tom Simpson won the 4 cylinder feature.  Simpson has raced the only
truck all season.  He was followed to the line by Dave Summers, Mike
Simpson (the points champ), Sonny Crayton, and Troy Kimbrew.  Heat wins
went to T. Simpson and Summers.

 The Biggest weekend of the year is coming up at I-79 as the STARS late
models roll into town on Sept. 3-4.  Friday night will include practice
for the late models, a full racing program of qualifying, heats and a
$1000. to win feature for steel block late models and qualifying and
heats for the UMP modifieds, and pure stocks.  Gates will open at 5 with
time trials at 8:00.  A party in the pits will be held after the races.

 On Saturday, qualifying, heats, b-mains, and the 75 lap Simonton
Windows Mountain State Thunder  paying $10,000 to win for the STARS late
models will highlight the evening.  Feature events will be run for the
UMP modifieds and pure stocks.  Gate will open at 4 with time trials set
to begin at 7:30.

 For information, call the speedway office at 304-592-3200 or on race
day, call the track at 304-592-0916.  The track is located at Exit 125
(Shinnston/Saltwell Road) just north of Clarksburg, WV.


 CHUCK HARPER, Gary Dalton, Butch McGill, Nolan Dalton, Greg Lemley,
Chad McDougal, Frank Wilson, Doug Horton, Danny Hamrick, Robbie Scott,Gary Tonkery, Scott Miles, Duke Pratt, LC Powers, Paul Wilmoth, Shannon Webb       DNS - Denny Chamberlain and Kevin Jones
  HEATS - N. Dalton, C. Harper, P. Wilmoth

 SKIP HARE, Duane Moreland, Steve Wilmoth, Rick Strickler, Tim Senic,
Roy Gibson, Rick Burrows, Shaun Poling, Jon Messenger, Birch Hare, Josh
Adams, Stanley Spooner, Mark McGill, Ron Wiles, Scott Chenoweth   DNS-
Kevin Wolfe
 HEATS - J. Adams,  S. Chenoweth

 SHAWN DAVIS, Ron Parrish, Mike Lewis, Dave Defibaugh, Vic Vandergrift,
Doug Thompson, Louie Krushansky, Larry Yanero, Ray Perkins, Delmas
Whiteman, Jason Ammons, Bud Cutlip, Mark Baylor, Charles Cochran    DNS
- Jerry Teter, Ron Bartholow, Rick Smith, Robbie Michael
 HEATS - S. Davis, M. Lewis, V. Vandergrift

 PAT FRAZIER, Gary Yost, Gary Britton, Jim Byers, Randy Bohan, Ricky
Vest, Paul Watson, Frankie Buzzo, Chuck Bloom, Ron Howard, Jeff Kesling,
Dave Tonkery, Danny Staggers, Steve Frazier, Jay Martin, Meatball
Spicer, Jon Wamsley, Tom Frazier, Mike Frazier, Ivan Wamsley, Lloyd
Frazier, Kevin Keene, Darrell Burkhammer, Troy Frazier, Gary Frazier
DNS- William Shoemaker, Donnie Groves
 HEATS - J. Byers, P. Frazier, L. Frazier

 TOM SIMPSON, Dave Summers, Mike Simpson, Sonny Crayton, Troy Kimbrew,
Bruce Satterfield, Teddy Workman, Jeff Pennington, Bart McCauley, Paul
Summers, D Jay Miller, Joe Frye, Gary Lester, Arlie Sigley        DNS -
Skip Raupach
 HEATS - T. Simpson, D. Summers