(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page click below for 

AD Rates 

Big race coming up at your track contact us for a low rate so your track will be on every page on this site.



Home           Tracks           Sanctions           Drivers    News & Stories   Pictures         Links            Guestbook          Contact Us


Fairbury American Legion Speedway

Dennis Erb Jr. works hard in Fairbury American Legion Speedway victory

For Immediate Release

August 20, 1999

(Fairbury IL) Carpentersville IL driver Dennis Erb Jr., showed that he has learned his lessons on the Hav-A-Tampa series this year. The current Rookie of the Year leader, has visited many tracks that he has never seen, and he has learned many lessons on those journeys. However, what he did Saturday Night at Fairbury American Legion Speedway is truly amazing.


The Ernie Meis Memorial, which paid $1,500 to win, started with Jay Fiene jumping to the lead from his outside pole starting position. On lap 8, veteran driver Dick Taylor moved inside of Fiene coming out of turn two, and pulled out to a straightaway lead. Meanwhile, Dennis Erb Jr., who started in 20th position( dead last position). was starting to work his way through the field on the black and slick racetrack. By lap 16, Erb had moved into second place. On the 22nd lap, Erb moved around the outside of Taylor to take the lead, and the win. The last eight laps, Erb Jr. pulled away to the win, and the $1,500 that went with it. What a race. I want to dedicate this win to my dad, who I miss so much...I know he was watching me on this one. These are the kind of track surfaces that I have been on all year, and I have learned some things on this stuff. Now if only we had a sponsor to go along with the win". said Erb Jr. after the race. Following Erb Jr.in his UNSPONSORED/Pro Power/Rayburn were Dick Taylor, Bob Pohlman Jr., Mike Mullvain, and Gary May. Rounding out the top ten were, Joe Harlan, Roger Long, Jay Fiene, Jeff Riblet, and Matt Taylor.


In Qualifying Gary May set fast time of the 42 late-models present with a time of 13.98 seconds around the 1/3 mile oval. Dick Taylor took the trophy dash ahead of Jay Fiene, Mike Mullvain, Jeff Riblet, Gary May, and Bob Pohlman Jr. The Heat Races were captured by Jeff Semmens, Dennis Erb Jr., Steve Hillard, and Ron Donaldsen. The Semi-Feature victories were taken by Steve Hillard, and Garrett Slager

In other divisions, Tommy Kroll took the checkered flag in the UMP Modified division, while Ron Sandage took home the checkered flag in the Street Stock Feature.

The next event for the Fairbury American Legion Speedway is  August 28, as the points season ends with a $1,200 to win UMP Late Model Feature, along with regular support classes. With his Third place finish in the modified class, Lance Dehm clinched the track championship. The late-model points race tightened up with Mark Anderson experiencing motor problems, and will probably eliminate him from contention for the title.




Darin Stewart

Public Relations Consultant

Fairbury American Legion Speedway