(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page click below for 

AD Rates 

Big race coming up at your track contact us for a low rate so your track will be on every page on this site.



Home           Tracks           Sanctions           Drivers    News & Stories   Pictures         Links            Guestbook          Contact Us

Tyler County


Steve Mason "Doubles Up" in Dwarf Cars

By: Dustin Jarrett

Middlebourne, WV (8/14/99) – Just because he was in a different car and a different class, didn’t mean that Gary Dalton wouldn’t find victory lane Saturday night at the Tyler County Speedway.

Jay Cline’s Rough Rider Steel Block Late Model Series was in town with 28 cars on hand for the $1,200 to win the 30 lap event. 18 units started the race with Gary Dalton grabbing the early lead from dash winner Mack Haessly. A caution one lap later for a four car pile-up slowed the field as Dalton, Haessly, and Eddie Clenedenin showed the way.

The restart saw Dalton separate himself from the field by a few car lengths as both Mike Benedum and Paul Baker began to work through the pack from their fourth row starting positions. Dalton’s small lead was quickly diminished when a pair of lap 4 yellows tightened the field together again.

Dalton brought the field back around for the restart with Haessly in tow. Haessly’s good run came to an end on lap 7 when he fell to the infield with mechanical failure, giving second to Baker.

A lap 9 nine yellow slowed the pace and allowed Baker to set his sights on Dalton. On the restart, however, Dalton continued to pull away from the competition. Baker, meanwhile, was busy fending off the challenges of Benedum. The battle for second saw this duo run side-by-side for several laps when Benedum finally moved by with under 10 laps remaining.

As the laps ticked away, nobody could catch Dalton as the Morgantown, WV driver put the Hall Welding Supply/Wesbanco sponsored #87 in winner’s circle ahead of Benedum, Baker, Clendenin, and Donnie McFarland.

In victory lane Dalton said, "This spec motor is a great motor and the car was fantastic. I could run high, low, or wherever I wanted." Dalton was present a trophy courtesy of Rough Rider Chassis after the race.

The make-up Steel Block feature went to Keith Rush.

The AMRA Modified feature started off with a bang as a first lap incident saw several top runners KO’d from the race. When the mess was cleared, Ron Burgess and Brent Trimble set the pace with Trimble blasting into the lead. Trimble held the point for several laps and through numerous cautions, but felt heavy pressure once he met the tail of the field.

With Jeff McDonald, Burgess, and Gerald Deitch gaining ground quickly, a caution waved with just 5 laps remaining giving Trimble the break he needed. On the restart, the Grafton, WV native held the top spot for the reminder of the race to pick up win number two in the 1999 season. McDonald, Deitch, Burgess, and Chris Fordyce completed the top 5.

Mark Dickson grabbed the win in the make-up Modified main.

The Stock Car feature saw Dave Gorrell charge from the pole into the lead at the start with Tracey Otto in hot pursuit. Rod White and Robbie Thomas eventually joined the lead duo as the top four cars separated themselves from the rest of the field. A lap 11 caution for Dave Casto’s flat tire kept the field tight, and when the green flag waved again, the top four cars could have been covered with a blanket. At the checkered, Gorrell was first to cross followed by Otto, White, Thomas, and Kris Van Camp.

The make-up feature saw Rod White get the win.

In both Dwarf car features, Steve Mason led green-to-checkered to get the win. In the regular feature, Mason held off a late race challenge from Chris Metz to post the victory. Metz, Tim Jackson, Tyler Hall, and Bob Bolin followed.

Chad Dotson led the first half of the Enduro Stock feature until he slipped high in turns 3 and 4 allowing Tim Mendenhall to duck underneath and make a winning pass. Dotson was second with Randy Gibson third, Zac Marks fourth, and Robert Jones fifth.

Chad Dotson won the Enduro Stock’s make-up feature.

In the mini-wedges, Dustin Lamp won race #1 followed by Jeremy Davis, and Kyle Thomas. Race #2 went to Derek Cropp ahead of Stevie Boram and Matt McAtee.




Saturday, August 21 – Final point night.

Saturday, August 28 – No Racing. (due to track prep for the Hillbilly 100)

Sunday and Monday Sept. 5 & 6 – 31st Annual Hillbilly 100! $20,000 to win!!!



Results Summary 8-14-99



Fast Qualifier: Sonny Conley/13.31

Dash: Mack Haessly, Gary Dalton, Sonny Conley, M.T. Hall

Heat #1: Eddie Clendenin, Paul Baker, D.J. Cline, Mark McGill

Heat #2: Steve Weigle, Donnie McFarland, Rick Burrows, Shaun Poling

Heat #3: Mike Benedum, Mike Eaton, Keith Rush, Donnie Dotson

B-Main: Gary Knollinger, Greg Lemley, Gary Midcap Jr., Darren Smith

ROUGH RIDER INVITATIONAL: Gary Dalton, Mike Benedum, Paul Baker, Eddie Clendenin, Donnie McFarland, Donnie Dotson, Rick Burrows, D.J. Cline, Gary Knollinger, Gary Midcap Jr., Darren Smith, Mark McGill, Mack Haessly, Keith Rush, M.T. Hall, Steve Weigle, Shaun Poling, Greg Lemley, (DNS – Sonny Conley, Mike Eaton)

Make-Up Feature: Rush, Hall, Lemley, Haessly, Baker, Cline, Midcap Jr., Dotson, Ron Deitch, Pat Herrick, Mike Stevens, Conley


Heat #1: Chris Clegg, Brent Trimble, Mike Griffin, Jeff McDonald

Heat #2: Ron Burgess, Gerald Deitch, Rick Hockenberry, Phil Lamp

Heat #3: Mark Dickson, Chris Fordyce, Jason Brookover, Gary Smith

Feature: Brent Trimble, Jeff McDonald, Gerald Deitch, Ron Burgess, Chris Fordyce, Gary Smith, Jerry Potts, Buck Hutton, Wade Benjamin, Phil Lamp, Jason Brookover, Gary Midcap Jr., Eddie Kelley, Mike Griffin, Chris Clegg, Mark Dickson, Rick Hockenberry, Adam Ferguson, Gary Elder, Kenny Johnson

Make-Up Feature: Dickson, Fordyce, McDonald, Clegg, Midcap Jr., Burgess, Griffin, Benjamin, Hockenberry, Ferguson, Potts, Kelley, Smith, Elder, Deitch, Brookover, Johnson, Trimble


Heat #1: Dave Gorrell, Tracey Otto, Robbie Thomas, Rod White

Heat #2: Dave Casto, Kris Van Camp, Lou Ennis

Feature: Dave Gorrell, Tracey Otto, Rod White, Robbie Thomas, Kris Van Camp, Lou Ennis, Gary Smith, Dave Casto, (DNS – Ryan Twarog, Joel Prosser)

Make-Up Feature: White, Otto, Gorrell, Thomas, Casto, Van Camp, Ennis, Smith, Twarog, (DNS – Prosser)


Heat #1: Terry Hall, Tyler Hall, Bob Bolin, Mitch Herrick

Heat #2: Steve Mason, Tim Jackson, Chris Metz, Bill Vargo

Feature: Steve Mason, Chris Metz, Tim Jackson, Tyler Hall, Bob Bolin, Terry Hall, Bill Vargo, Carl Harris, Mitch Herrick (DNS – Dave Full, Ned Greeneltch, Kevin Quinn)

Make-Up Feature: Mason, Metz, Jackson, Herrick, Bolin, Vargo, Ty. Hall, Harris, Te. Hall, Full, Greeneltch, Quinn


Heat: Chad Dotson, Paul Durrah, Randy Gibson, Zac Marks

Feature: Tim Mendenhall, Chad Dotson, Randy Gibson, Zac Marks, Robert Jones, Paul Durrah (DNS – Mike Dotson, Tim Martie)

Make-Up Feature: C. Dotson, Mendenhall, M. Dotson, Marks, Gibson, Sandy Durrah