(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page
FOR FREE click below for 

Free Advertising until 2000



The Challenger Raceway

July 3,1999
By Chris Schaeffer

The hot , muggy weather didn't dampen the on track fireworks provided by a great field of cars in every division. The pits were filled with 104 race cars to kick off a super 4th of July weekend. Texaco Late Model Rookie Jason Carnahan scored his first ever feature win. Rimersburgs' Scott Prister nabbed another feature win in the Super Winged Sprints. Cruising to his first win of the 1999 season in the Coca-Cola Mid-Eastern Modifieds was Jim Baker.        Rusty Martz took home the checkers in the Stewart Bus Line Pure Stocks, with John Mazey capturing the Strictly Stocks and Fran Gower cruising to the P.C.T.C Senior Series win.
        Matt Wingard and Sheila Rankin paced the field for the 20 lap Super Winged Sprint feature. At the drop of the green, Wingard jetted to the point and held the spot through 12 circuits. In a feature marred by only 3 cautions, Track position on the restarts was crucial. By the second caution Priester was tucked into second, and on the start, slid by Wingard to take charge. Wingard tucked into second, but had a hard charging Daryl Stimeling on his tail.

Stimeling opened the door in lapped traffic and slid by Wingard, Taking Charlie Holben with him. At the finish it was Priester, Stimeling, Holben,
Wingard, and Kevin Schaeffer(up from 10th). The bottom tier of five
included Ralph Engel, Steve Kenawell, Gary Rankin, Chris Strait, and
George Garris. The heat race winners were: Kevin Schaeffer and Daryl

        In a caution filled 25 lap Texaco Late Model Feature, rookie pilot Jason Carnahan showed his  patience, scoring his first ever feature win. Carnahan and Chris Conner brought the 21 car field trackside. Carnahan took charge early and lead through ten, with Sam Stiles overtaking Conner to run second. Stiles seemed poised to overtake Carnahan, when mechanical problems retired the 2s to the pits. Bob Wearing Jr. overtook Carnahan on the restart to lead the next 9 revolutions, when he too suffered mechanical problems.
Carnahan again took charge and never looked back, to score a very emotional win for the young newlywed. He was followed to the
checkers by Dave Norton, Tom Decker Jr., Wally Fox, and Chris
Conner. The rest of the top ten included: Bob Cessna, Rob King,
Gary Beem, Sherwin Daugherty, and Chris Stewart. The heat races
were won by Wally Fox and Chris Conner.
        21 Coca-Cola Mid-Eastern Modifieds took the green for their
20 lap feature. Jim Baker took charge early and lead the first 9
circuits. On lap ten Jeff Taylor, up from 19th, made the pass for the lead. Taylor had the point for four laps when he was forced to pit with a flat. Baker again took charge, and this time he pulled away to score his first
feature of the 1999 season. Baker was followed to the stripe by Jim
Bertges, Chuck Kennedy, Dave Satterlee, and Paul Dominick. The bottom
tier of five included: Rich Logan, Ken Herman(up from 12th), Will
Cochran,  Orvie Newcome Jr., and Jim Fry. The heat race winners were: Bob Rougeaux and Chuck Kennedy.

        Brookvilles' Rusty Martz cruised to the checkers for the win in
the Stewart Bus Line Pure Stocks. Randy Caldwell had a good run to
fill the second slot, with Rob Kosecki(up from 10th) third, and Bill
Lyons and John Ponikvar rounding out the top five. The rest of the top ten
included:  Greg Hauger, Larry Henry, Todd Weiner, Brent Nulph, and Rob Shook. The heat race winners were: John Ponikvar and Joe Kelley.

        John Mazey led all the way to nab the Strictly Stock feature
win. He was followed to the line by Brad Shirey, Henry Wilfong, Bill
Sigafoes, and Joe Starcher.

        The P.C.T.C. Senior Series made their second appearance of the
year. Fran Gower took home the win, with Don Gamble second, and Bill Wheeling third. Gamble won the heat race.

        Our final event of the evening was a Late Model Mechanics
Race. The mechanic for Tom Deckers #43 bested the 5 car field and
took home the trophy.

        July 10th will be a full Regular Show, plus Pure Stock Mechanics
Race, Scout and Little League Night, Kids Bike races, and Twin State
Fan Club Night.

Sprint Feature: Scott Priester, Daryl Stimeling, Charlie Holben, Matt
Wingard, Kevin Schaeffer, Ralph Engel Jr., Steve Kenawell, Gary
Rankin, Chris Strait, George Garris, Sheila Rankin, Chuck Kirk,
Mark Simpson, Jim Kennedy, and Jeff Stuchel.

Late Model Feature: Jason Carnahan, Dave Norton, Tom Decker Jr.,
Wally Fox, Chris Conner, Bob Cessna, Rob King, Gary Beem,
Sherwin Daugherty, Chris Stewart, Bob Wearing Jr., Bob Bertges,
Dave Satterlee, Mike Blose, Sam Stiles, Gene Kain, Shane Beegle,
Mel Minnick, Bill Reges, Tony Burke DNS, Jim Rozum DNS.