(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page
FOR FREE click below for 

Free Advertising until 2000



Frank flies at Stateline, earns pole for 100-Lapper July 3

By Jay Pees

BUSTI, NY (June 26, 1999) - The pole position was decided for next Saturday's 100-Lap Late Model feature with Chub Frank grabbing the win in the 25-lap feature at Stateline Saturday night. The Qualifier started with Frank in fifth position behind polesitter Chad Ruhlman, Dan Armbruster, Rich Gardner, and Dan Maxim. By the time the caution fell at the end of lap one, Frank had moved into second. Ruhlman was able to power away on the restart with Frank taking the highline.

After another caution on lap five, Frank changed his line and began pulling alongside Ruhlman in the turns and finally made the pass complete on lap eight. Frank maintained his lead until the checkers with Ruhlman finishing second. Gardner turned in his best effort of the season for third with circuit point leader Matt Urban fourth. John Lobb ran strong for fifth. Ruhlman, Armbruster, and Gardner won the heats. Frank's win was his second of the year at Stateline and his fifth overall on the Stateline-Eriez Circuit.

John Lacki, frustrated several times in his return to racing finally broke through to the winner's circle in the Limited Late Model feature by coming all the way from his eleventh place starting position to the lead in only four laps. The race was slowed on laps two and three for minor incidents and then on lap five for a melee in turn one involving Chris Hackett, Dave Shagla, Snoop Losey, and Joe Weber. Hackett had been running second when he suddenly spun at the end of the front straight with a chain-reaction resulting. The impacts were severe enough to prevent any of the involved cars from continuing. When the race resumed, Lacki ran out to a large lead, suffering through the race's final caution period on lap nine for a minor incident. On the restart, Lacki again shot out to a large lead, but Kevin Decker assumed the runner-up position on lap eleven and began gaining on Lacki.

Decker, who started thirteenth, nearly caught Lacki, who developed a loose condition towards the end of the race, but had to settle for second. Tom Schnars ran well again in his M-1 and wound up third. Pat McGuire, last week's winner was fourth with Pete Wokulich fifth. Mike Moore and Hackett were victorious in the preliminary heats.

Norm Kloszewski led the first lap of the Sportsman feature before giving way to Dan Nocero, Jr, who led the rest of the distance to record his second win of the season. Nocero was pressure the distance by last week's winner, Dave Eades. Mike Kosinski was third, Randy Parmenter fourth, and Matt Green fifth. The race was halted in lap five when Robert J. Nocero, brother of the victor, flipped violently in turn two. He was uninjured, but the car suffered heavy damage. Gary Foster and Dan Nocero, Jr won their heats.

Jamie Erhard led the Cadet field to the flag for their first feature of the evening and led the first thirteen laps until fourteenth started Chad Carlson got by on the front straight of lap thirteen. Carlson then went on to his second win in as many weeks with Erhard second, Ted Kosinski third, and Troy Carr fourth. The race was slowed five times for yellow flags, all for spins.

In the second Cadet finale, third starting Steve Yokum shot into the lead at the flagstand and was never challenged the distance in the race slow four times for cautions. Andy Sweetland wound up second, just ahead of newlywed John Galati. Cubby Haupt ran a strong fourth with last week's winner, Ron Seeley, fifth.

Sweetland, Greg Johnson, and Yokum won the heats with Carlson defeating Seeley for King of the Hill honors.

Ernest Franklin led the first Spectator feature until a lap seven caution when the car experienced mechanical problems, leaving Vince Cole at the head of the field. Cole held on for his first feature win of the season at Stateline over Bill Baker, Jr.
George Richardson led flag-to-flag to win his second feature of the year over Scott Ottaway. The race was halted with a red flag on lap seven when Brian Larson barrel-rolled down the front straight.

John Cline came from his outside front row starting position to the lead in the final Spectator feature and held it until Mark Grabowski got by on lap six. Grabowski spun before the completion of the lap, but eventual winner Bob Frisbee also got by Cline and led the remaining distance to win his third of the season. Point leader Chris Sutton wound up second.

Brian Larson, Randy Carlson, Bill Bain, and Pat Gorton won the heat races.