(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page
FOR FREE click below for 

Free Advertising until 2000



Home           Tracks           Sanctions           Drivers    News & Stories   Pictures         Links            Guestbook          Contact Us

Full Track Results

Gardner, Lacki score Stateline wins, Skelter nabs sprint special

By Jay Pees

BUSTI, NY (July 17, 1999) - Waterford, PA's Rich Gardner took the lead on lap three of the Late Model feature from Pat McGuire and led the remaining distance Saturday to record his first win of 1999. McGuire pulled out from the pole position at the drop of the green flag, but Gardner quickly got to the bottom of the speedway and nosed under McGuire coming out of the fourth turn of the first lap. The two then ran side by side until Gardner got the upper hand at the stripe on lap three. The race was far from over, though, as ten cautions slowed the pace and closed the pack, allowing first McGuire, and then Doug Eck to make several attempts to wrest the lead from Gardner, but he was able to beat back all tries. Eck, who came from deep in the field at the start, had to settle for second while McGuire fell off the leader's pace and wound up eighth. Dan Armbruster ran a strong race to finish third with Chevy Scott and Chris Brockway rounding out the top five. Brian Ruhlman, Steve Halpainy, McGuire, John Lobb, and Matt Urban rounded out the top ten. McGuire, Gardner and Armbruster won the heats which set the twenty-two car field.

Twenty Limited Late Models came to the green flag with Chad Ramsey grabbing the immediate lead with Tom Schnars in hot pursuit. Schnars got by for the lead on lap eight with Pat McGuire joining the chase shortly after. John Lacki, who had started in the third row slipped back through the field during the early laps but steadily worked his way back into contention. By lap seventeen, Lacki was third behind Schnars and McGuire when the two leaders made contact in turn two, slowing enough to allow the Gerry, NY driver to slip by for the lead. Lacki then powered away for his second win of the season. Schnars and McGuire both recovered to finish second and third with George LaBarbara and Pete Wokulich rounding out the top five. Lacki and McGuire won the heats.

The Empire Super Sprints made their second visit to Stateline this season with twenty-eight cars attempting to make the twenty-two car starting grid. Former Late Model star Tom Taber, of Belfast, NY, assumed the lead from his outside starting spot and led through the first fourteen laps, but had Mike Skelter in close pursuit the entire race. Twice, on lap six and again on lap twelve, Skelter was able to get by entering the third turn, but Taber was able to power back into the lead on the exit of turn four. Skelter finally made the pass in turn one of lap fifteen and led to the checkers to record his second career victory with the Empire Super Sprints. Both wins have come in 1999. Skelter's win was all the more satisfying to his team as they had completely rebuilt the car after a hard crash Friday night at Ramsonville Speedway in upstate New York. Taber slipped back to fourth behind Bill Coffey, winner at Eriez Speedway in May, and Mike Woodring, the current ESS points leader.

The second place points driver, Craig, "Cricket" Keel, winner of the May Stateline race, was fifth. Todd Bauer, Taber and George Ely won the qualifying heats while Mike Lauterborn won the B-Main, Last Chance Race.

Gary Hazzard led the seventeen-car Sportsman feature for the first four laps before surrendering the lead to eventual winner Mike Kosinski. Kosinski opened a lead on second place that was never seriously challenged the remaining distance. Dan Nocero, Jr finished second with 1998 Champion Cris Dahlgren third. Gary Foster and Kosinski won their heat races.

Sixteen cars started the first Cadet feature with John Pencille leading the way for the first lap and the Andy Sweetland taking over for the next four laps. At that point, Brian Emory gained the point and opened a comfortable lead over eventual second-place finisher Sweetland. Cubby Haupt ended the event third with Glenn Slaney and point leader John Galati fourth and fifth.

The second Cadet feature also had sixteen starters with Ron Seeley coming from the second row to lead the first eleven laps before being overtaken by Gary Eicher. Ted Kosinski got by Seeley on the final lap for second with last week's winner Greg Johnson fourth and circuit point leader Steve Yokum fifth.

Steve Hulings, Ted Kosinski, and Emory won the heats. Chad Carlson defeated Greg Johnson for the "Run for the Money" honors.
Winnie Bowel won his second feature of the season in the first Spectator finale over Bob King and Al Silsby, Jr.

The second Spectator feature was won by Aaron Robinson with Bill Rotunda second and Bill Baker, Jr third.

John Cline took the lead from Ed Hart on lap three of the third Spectator feature and led the remaining distance to score his first win of 1999. Bob Frisbee was second and Kelly Frederes third.

Next Saturday is Autograph night at Stateline. Gates open at 5:30 with racing getting underway at 7:00PM.