(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page
FOR FREE click below for 

Free Advertising until 2000



Home           Tracks           Sanctions           Drivers    News & Stories   Pictures         Links            Guestbook          Contact Us              

                Full Track Results

July 16,1999
Rich Berry
Dan Armbruster wins for Santa Claus at Raceway 7
Conneaut, Ohio, (July 16)  Dan Armbruster picked up his first win of the season on Coca Cola Christmas in July night on Friday night at Raceway 7.  The Harborcreek, PA driver became the tenth different winner in 11 weeks of racing, with his victory in the Maloney Tool and Mold Late Model feature race.  Other drivers scoring wins with Santa Claus in the grandstands were Dan McDonald of Girard, PA in the Bolt Place Limited Late Models; Bill Watson of Conneaut, OH in the Corry Laser E-Mods; Bill Hanna of Westford, PA in the Fame Manufacturing Street Stocks; and Jim Hyde of Springboro, PA in the Steve's Auto Body Four Cylinders.
     The 20 lap Maloney Tool and Mold Late Model feature had Dan Armbruster and Dale Applebee leading the field to the green flag.  Armbruster moved into the lead from the start with Applebee and Bob Craig taking up the chase.  Craig spun on lap 5 while battling Dave Lyon for third, bringing out the first yellow.  Rob Blair moved into third, and put pressure on Applebee for second while Armbruster kept in front.  After a final yellow on lap 8, Armbruster pulled away from the field en route to the feature win.  Armbruster could not have gone much further, as his car had a flat right rear tire in victory lane.   Applebee held off Blair for the second spot.  Mickey Wright advanced from eighth starting spot for fourth, with Ron Davies coming from 11th starting spot for fifth.  Dutch Davies was sixth, as Frank Poniatowski, David Scott, Lyon, and Matt Urban completed the top ten.  Blair, Dick Barton, and Lyon were the qualifying Heat race winners. 
     The 15 lap The Bolt Place Limited Late Model feature win went to Dan McDonald for the third time this season.  Starting third, McDonald took the lead from Tim Glass on lap 4, before Glass spun and collected the third and fourth place cars of Steve Hollabaugh and Bill Henry.  McDonald went on to score the victory, over a late closing Tom Bonanno.  Bob Vogt came from the tail after being involved in a lap 1 tangle to finish third.  Mike Stoneman was fourth, and fifth went to Brian Huffman who started last, as he drove the car of Bob Bealer after his regular car developed problems.  Vogt and McDonald won the heat races. 
     The 15 lap Corry Laser E-Mod feature race went to Bill Watson, for the third time this season.  Starting fourth, Watson worked his way into the top spot on the opening lap, and led the entire distance to score the win.  Close behind Watson at the finish was the battle for second, where Chuck List held off Ron Roncaglione for the runner-up spot.  Dave Hess was fourth, with Jack Young fifth.  Dwayne Pond, Bill Watson, Joel Watson, and List were heat race winners, with Russ Dunn winning the Last Chance Race.
     Padding his point lead in the 12 lap Fame Manufacturing Street Stock with his third win of the season was Bill Hanna.  Jim Peska led the early part of the event, as fourth starting Hanna moved up to challenge.  Hanna made the pass for the lead on lap 4, but Peska moved back past on lap 5.  Hanna regained the top spot on lap 6, which he held to the finish.  Tony Hyde moved into second in the closing laps after starting tenth.  Jeff Buccella came from 12th to third, ahead of Mike Watson and Tim Mailliard.  The heat race winners were Buccella, Brian Counselman, Hanna, and Peska, and John
Hobbs, Sr. won the Last Chance Race.
     Continuing his dominance of the Steve's Auto Body Four Cylinders was Jim Hyde, scoring his fourth win in a row for a total of five wins this season.  Hyde moved quickly through the pack from 11th starting spot, taking the lead on lap 2 on his way to the win.  Dennis Lenney held off Darrell Moody for second, ahead of Turk Kahler and Tom Hyde.  The heat winners were Lenney and Jim Hyde. 
     Raceway 7 will be back in action on Friday night, July 23, with the Mid-Atlantic Championship Series making their third of four 1999 visits.  The 50 lap main event as part of MACS Thunder in the Mountains Series will pay $5,000 to the winner, sponsored by Bossard Crawford GM.  All five divisions will be in competition.  Raceway 7 is located six miles south of I-90 on Ohio Route 7.  For more information, call the track phone on race day at 440-594-2222, or visit the Raceway 7 web site at www.raceway7.com.
Upcoming shows,
July 23 - Mid-Atlantic Championship Series Late Models, 50 laps for $5,000 to win, sponsored by Bossard Crawford GM.  Five division racing.
July 30 - Coca Cola Challenge, topless Late Models with $2000 added purse.  Five division racing.

*    *    Raceway 7 Results for Friday, July 16, 1999  *    *
Maloney Tool and Mold Late Models.  Car Count, 24.  Heat Winners, Rob Blair, Titusville, PA; Dick Barton, Ashville, NY; Dave Lyon, Sugar Grove, PA.

 Feature winner, Dan Armbruster, Harborcreek, PA.  Top ten, Dale Applebee, Clymer, NY; Blair, Mickey Wright, Albion, PA; Ron Davies, Warren, PA; Dutch Davies, Warren, PA; David Scott, Garland, PA; Lyon, Matt Urban, North East, PA.  Remainder, Mark Osburn, Rusty Whitmore, Barton, Chevy Scott, John Watson, Wally Fox, Bill Cunningham, Don Loney, John Pavlick, Kevin Santee, Dan Tercho, Bob Moravitz, Bob Craig.  Did not start, Merle Terry.

The Bolt Place Limited Late Models.  Car Count, 21.  Heat winners, Bob Vogt, West Springfield, PA; Dan McDonald, Girard, PA.  Feature winner, McDonald.  Top five, Tom Bonanno, Conneautville, PA; Vogt, Mike Stoneman, Ashtabula, OH; Brian Huffman, Jefferson, OH.  Top ten, Chuck Steinle, Jr., Terry Porter, Steve Hollabaugh, Don Herman, Bill Henry.
Corry Laser E-Mods.  Car Count, 35.  Heat winners, Dwayne Pond, Saegertown, PA; Bill Watson, Conneaut, OH; Joel Watson, Ashtabula, OH; Chuck List, Kinsman, OH.  Last Chance Race winner, Russ Dunn, Fronell, PA.  Feature Winner, Bill Watson.  Top five, List, Ron Roncaglione, Linesville, PA; Dave Hess, Waterford, PA; Jack Young, Thompson, OH.  Top ten, Pond, Bobby Powell, Kari Petrosky, Jack Andrew, Tom Congdon.
Fame Manufacturing Street Stocks.  Car Count, 40.  Heat winners, Jeff Buccella, Mineral Ridge, OH; Brian Counselman, Cochranton, PA; Bill Hanna, Westford, PA;  Last Chance Race winner, John Hobbs, Sr.  Feature winner, Hanna.  Top five, Tony Hyde, Springboro, PA; Buccella, Mike Watson, Kingsville, OH; Tim Mailliard, Cochranton, PA.  Top ten, Brian Douglas, Counselman, Rich Howell, Wayne Daniels, Russ Kapalin.
Steve's Auto Body Four Cylinders.    Car Count, 17.  Heat winners, Dennis Lenney, West Farmington, OH; Jim Hyde, Springboro, PA.  Feature winner, Hyde.  Top five, Lenney, Darrell Moody, Turk Kahler, Tom Hyde.