(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page
FOR FREE click below for 

Free Advertising until 2000




July 2


Dick Barton Mid-Season Champion at Raceway 7
Conneaut, Ohio, (July 2)  Dick Barton of Ashville, NY shook off an early season full of bad luck to capture Mid-Season Championship honors on Friday night at Raceway 7.  Barton has had a rough start to the 1999 season, but his win in the Maloney Tool and Mold Late Model feature event gave the defending track champion his first win of the season.  Other drivers earning Mid-Season Championship honors in the program of racing sponsored by Rigby Ford Mercury included Bob Vogt of West Springfield, PA in The Bolt Place Limited Late Models; Jay Watson of Conneaut, OH in the Corry Laser E-Mods, Tony Hyde of Springboro, PA in the Fame Manufacturing Street Stocks; and Jim Hyde of Springboro, PA in the Steve's Auto Body Four Cylinders.

     The 20 lap Maloney Tool and Mold Late Model Mid-Season Championship was lined up by season-long point standings, with Ron Davies and Matt Urban on the front row.  Davies led the first lap, but the two cars made slight contact on the next round allowing Dick Barton to take over the top spot.  Barton opened a slight edge over the field before the first yellow flag of the race waved on lap 5.  The race restarted to an extended period of green flag racing, as Barton had his hands full with Urban.  Urban kept the pressure on, as Barton had no more than a couple car length lead as the leaders worked race traffic.  Urban moved along side Barton in lapped traffic on lap 16, but was unable to pull off the pass.  A tangle involving four cars caused a late yellow on lap 18, setting up what appeared to be a two lap dash to the finish.  As the green flag flew for the restart, a big pileup ensued on the front stretch.  A total of twelve cars were caught up in the melee.  Among the cars receiving more extensive damage were Tony Lombardi who ended up with his car upside-down, with Frank  Poniatowski's car on top of his car.  Seven of the twelve involved were towed to the pits.  After a couple more minor skirmishes, the final two laps were finally run off with Barton taking the win over Urban, Ron Davies, Dale Applebee, and Bruce Hordusky.  John Watson, Mark Osburn, Bill Cunningham, Dutch Davies, and Dave Lyon completed the top ten.  Wally Fox, Dan Armbruster, and Urban were the qualifying Heat race winners. 

     The 15 lap Bolt Place Limited Late Model Mid-Season Championship went to Bob Vogt, who earned his fourth feature win of the season.  Vogt survived a caution filled event, which hit its time limit after nine yellow flag periods with 13 laps completed.  Dan McDonald was Vogt's main challenger, but he got turned into trouble on the final yellow.  Behind Vogt at the finish were Tom Bonanno, Brian Huffman, Mike Stoneman, and Chuck Steinle, Jr.  McDonald and Bonanno won the heat races. 
     Continuing his hot streak in the Corry Laser E-Mods was Jay Watson, winning for the third straight week to tally his fourth victory of the season.  Dave Hess moved into the lead in the early going after starting fifth, but dropped out of the race while leading on lap 5.  That put Watson back in command, as he had earlier started from the pole as the point leader.  From that point, he kept in front over the rest of the 15 lap distance to score Mid-Season Championship honors.  Bill Watson came home second, ahead of Mike Hess, Joel Watson, and Bootie Petsko.  The heat race winners were Dwayne Pond, Hugo Litwiler, Bill Watson, and Joel Watson, and Petsko won the Last Chance Race.

     The 12 lap Fame Manufacturing Street Stock Mid-Season Championship went to Tony Hyde, his third feature win of the season.  Hyde took advantage of a tangle between Leon Phillips and Bob Pifer, the top two running cars who made contact early in the event forcing both to make pit stops.  Hyde survived numerous caution periods to score the win.  Pifer capped a great run by coming back from the rear of the field to finish second.  Russ Kapalin came home third, ahead of 19th starting Jeff Buccella and Dave Willoughby.  Point leader Bill Hanna experienced problems, and missed the feature race.  Terry
Schoonover, Rich Howell, and Kapalin were heat race winners, with Pifer winning the Last Chance Race.

     The 10 lap Steve's Auto Body Four Cylinder Mid-Season Championship race went to Jim Hyde for the third straight week.  Hyde held off a late charge from Dennis Lenney for his fourth feature win of the year.  Mark Kitinoja was third, with Tom Hyde and Darren Buell next.  The heat winners were Jim Hyde and Lenney.
     Raceway 7 will be back in action on Friday night, July 9, with the E-Mod division taking center stage.  The York Triathlon Series for E-Mods will visit, sponsored by General Aluminum, as part of a five division program of racing.  Raceway 7 is located six miles south of I-90 on Ohio Route 7.  For more information, call the track phone on race day at 440-594-2222, or visit the Raceway 7 web site at www.raceway7.com.
Upcoming shows,
July 9 -  Five division racing plus the York Triathlon Series for E-Mods, sponsored by General Aluminum. 
July 16 - Coca Cola Christmas in July night.  Five division racing, with under 14 admitted free,  Santa Claus visiting.

     *    *    Raceway 7 Results for Friday, July 2, 1999   *    *
Maloney Tool and Mold Late Models. 
Car Count, 25. 
Heat Winners, Wally Fox, Cooperstown, PA; Dan Armbruster, Harborcreek, PA; Matt Urban, North East, PA. 
Feature winner, Dick Barton, Ashville, NY.                                                                 
Top ten, Urban, Ron Davies, Warren, PA; Dale Applebee, Clymer, NY; Bruce Hordusky, Erie, PA; John Watson, Ashtabula, OH; Mark Osburn, Kingsville, OH; Bill Cunningham, Jefferson, OH; Dutch Davies, Warren, PA; Dave Lyon, Sugar Grove, PA.  Remainder, Fox, Brent Rhebergen, Chevy Scott, Dale Fuller, Bob Moravitz, Rusty Whitmore, Mickey Wright, Frank Poniatowski, John Flinner, Don Loney, Merle Terry, Tony Lombardi, Kevin Santee, Armbruster, Dan Tercho.

The Bolt Place Limited Late Models.  Car Count, 21.  Heat winners, Dan McDonald, Girard, PA; Tom
Bonanno, Conneautville, PA.  Feature winner, Bob Vogt, West Springfield, PA.  Top five, Bonanno, Brian
Huffman, Jefferson, OH; Mike Stoneman, Ashtabula, OH; Chuck Steinle, Jr., Lake City, PA.  Top ten,
Terry Porter, Bill Henry, Gary Eicher, Pete Wokulich, Jaime Runyan.

Corry Laser E-Mods. Car Count, 36.  Heat winners, Dwayne Pond, Saegertown, PA; Hugo Litwiler,
Linesville, PA; Bill Watson, Conneaut, OH; Joel Watson, Ashtabula, OH.  Last Chance Race winner, Bootie
Petsko, Brookfield, OH.  Feature Winner, Jay Watson, Conneaut, OH.  Top five, Bill Watson, Mike Hess,
Waterford, PA; Joel Watson, Petsko, Randy Brooks, Geneva, OH.  Top ten, Tim Henrich, Jim McFadden,
Bill Taylor, Jim Frontz.
Fame Manufacturing Street Stocks.  Car Count, 36.  Heat winners, Terry Schoonover, Bristolville, OH;
Rich Howell, Jefferson, OH; Russ Kapalin, Jefferson, OH.  Last Chance Race winner, Bob Pifer, Andover,
OH.  Feature winner, Tony Hyde, Springboro, PA.  Top five, Pifer, Kapalin, Jeff Buccella, Mineral Ridge,
OH; Dave Willoughby, Warren, OH.  Top ten, Howell, Brian Counselman, Schoonover, John Hobbs, Sr.,
Jeff Cusano.
Steve's Auto Body Four Cylinders.   Car Count, 17.  Heat winners, Jim Hyde, Springboro, PA; Dennis
Lenney, West Farmington, OH.  Feature winner, Jim Hyde, Springboro, PA.  Top five, Lenney, Mark
Kitinoja, Tom Hyde, Darren Buell.