(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page
FOR FREE click below for 

Free Advertising until 2000



Dodd won't be denied, earns first-ever late model feature at PPMS

By Judy Gower

IMPERIAL, PA (June 26, 1999) - Doug Dodd of Cambridge, OH danced into victory lane at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway for the first time in his career by capturing Saturday's Late Model feature. The Limited Late Model special went to Rick Heim of Pittsburgh. Frank Schneider Jr. of Pittsburgh drove to his third Schneider Truck Spectator Stock win. East Liverpool, OH's Larry Kugel notched his second M. Stahl E-Modified victory and Mike McKee of Carnegie stayed unbeaten in the new Amateur Stocks.

Starting third and poised to attack, Dodd darted into the lead on lap one of the 25-lap Late Model feature. Front row starters Bill Knepper and Doug Crawford settled in behind the leader while Lou Bradich, Steve Baker and Rick Dawson begin their charges to the front. Dodd kept the upper hand while Crawford ran second ahead of Baker, Dawson, Bradich and Knepper. Just as the race leader was entering heavy traffic, the caution waved on lap 15. Once the green returned, Dodd was headed on his way to the checkered flag. Crawford, tenth starting Baker, ninth starting Dawson, and Bradich completed the top five. Rounding out the top ten were: B.A. Malcuit, Knepper, Mike Cecere, Ed Ferree and Ricky Thomas. Mark Banal was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger. Ferree, Baker and Dawson won the heat races.

Tom Schirnhofer set the early pace in the Limited Late Model 20-lap feature. Len Dobrosielski took the lead on the fourth circuit with Rick Heim moving to second by the midway point. As the race moved into the late stages, Heim reeled in the leader and made his winning pass with two laps remaining. Dobrosielski, Schirnhofer, Dave Wade and Jim Stephans were second through fifth respectively. Monarch Oil Hard Charger Robert Freshour, Duane Popham, John Pavlick, Ron O'Patchin and Chuck Mowry completed the top ten.

Larry Kugel overhauled Russ Matejka for the lead on the fifth lap of the M.Stahl E-Modified feature. Once in front, the career leading E-Mod winner never looked back in taking the victory. Monarch Oil Hard Charger Wayne Tessean moved from twelfth to second, Scott Stiffler was third, Russ Matejka fourth and D.J. Miller fifth. Rich Stiffler, Dale Charlier, Bootie Petsko, Mike Ross and Jeff Broniszewski completed the top ten. Tessean and Kugel won the preliminaries.

The Schneider Truck Spectator Stock 15-lap feature went right down to the wire with Frankie Schneider holding off Rick Apolito for the hard fought win. Monarch Oil Hard Charger Al Atallah charged from twelfth to third. Bob Heim drove the Doug Foster #3 to fourth and Danny Rich was fifth. Pat Weldon, Neal Isiminger, Fred Schneider, Dave Greenawald and Daryl Robison rounded out the top ten. Weldon and Atallah won the heat races.

Mike McKee defeated Bob Siemon for the second week in a row in the new Amateur Stocks.

This Saturday, July 3rd, a demolition derby will follow the racing action. The Late Models, Limited Late Models, M. Stahl E-Modifieds, Schneider Truck Spectator Stocks and Amateur Stocks will be in action starting at 7pm. For more information call (724) 853-RACE.



HEAT WINNERS: Ed Ferree, Steve Baker, Rick Dawson.


1) Doug Dodd, Cambridge OH 2) Doug Crawford, Castle Shannon 3) Steve Baker, Fairmont WV 4) Rick Dawson, Austintown OH 5) Lou Bradich, Chester WV 6) B.A. Malcuit 7) Bill Knepper 8) Mike Cecere 9) Ed Ferree 10) Ricky Thomas 11) Mark Banal 12) Ben Miley 13) John Mason 14) Bill Adler 15) Alex Ferree 16) Keith Berner 17) Jim Lepro 18) Don Gross 19) Mark Moats 20) Rody Exposito 21) Jim Zarin 22) Dennis Curry 23) Ed Dunn 24) Andy Koteles


HEAT WINNERS: Rick Heim, Dave Wade


1) Rick Heim, Pittsburgh 2) Len Dobrosielski, Kennedy Twp. 3) Tom Schirnhofer, Emsworth 4) Dave Wade, Pittsburgh 5) Jim Stephans, Pittsburgh 6) Robert Freshour 7) Duane Popham 8) John Pavlick 9) Ron O'Patchin 10) Chuck Mowry


HEAT WINNERS: Wayne Tessean, Larry Kugel


1) Larry Kugel, E.Liverpool OH 2) Wayne Tessean, Austintown OH 3) Scott Stiffler 4) Russ Matejka, Monaca 5) D.J. Miller, Hookstown 6) Rich Stiffler 7) Dale Charlier 8) Bootie Petsko 9) Mike Ross 10) Jeff Broniszewski


HEAT WINNERS: Pat Weldon, Al Atallah


1) Frankie Schneider, Sheraden 2) Rich Apolito, Carnegie 3) Al Atallah, Carnegie 4) Bob Heim, Pittsburgh 5) Danny Rich, Imperial 6) Pat Weldon 7) Neal Isiminger 8) Fred Schneider 9) Dave Greenawald 10) Daryl Robison