(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page
FOR FREE click below for 

Free Advertising until 2000



Interstate 79 Speedway Results 6-25-99
by Dixie Phillips

On a beautiful summer evening, over 100 cars checked into the pit area
at Interstate 79 Speedway on Friday, June 25. Picking up double
points and feature wins on Morgan Auto Parts Mid-Season Championship
Night were Butch McGill, Tim Senic, Vic Vandergrift, Roger Coffman,
Mike Simpson, and David Riley.

It appeared that a new visitor to I-79 was going to steal the late
model money as Greg Lucas of Whitesburg, KY, won his heat and started
on the pole of the Shinnston Plumbing late model feature event. Lucas,
who is running for the "STARS Rookie of the Year", had a strong car and
seemed to have the entire field covered. The first caution flew on the
first lap when 6 cars piled up in front of the pack. Involved were
Frank Wilson, Chuck Harper, Paul Wilmoth, Robbie Scott, Nolan Dalton,
and Chad McDougal. Harper was the only driver who could not continue.
On each restart, it appeared that Lucas could pull away and keep
the distance safe between he and the next three cars of Butch McGill,
Gary Dalton, and Mark Banal. On lap 18, Banal had a tire go down and
went pitside. Just as the flagman gave the two laps to go signal,
Lucas' car slowed when he broke a panhard bar and cut the driveshaft.
McGill, N. Dalton, and G. Dalton raced side-by-side for the final two
circuits with McGill taking his first win of the year at I-79. N.
Dalton, who like tonight, has had to work his way from the tail several
times this year, had a perfect month of June going until he came up just
a little short. Cousin, Gary, was third followed by Mike Benedum, and
Doug Horton. Heat race winners were Lucas, Gary Tonkery, and McGill.

Tim Senic picked up his first ever semi late feature win at I-79
with an impressive win over Jon Messenger, Shaun Poling, Birch Hare,
and Brian Tonkery. Poling and Senic were heat winners.
The UMP modifieds ran out of time when the 30 minute time limit
expired and Vic Vandergrift was the victorious driver. Vandergrift held
off Shawn Davis who made several attempts to get by but couldn't make
them stick. Dave Defibaugh, Ron Parrish, and Jerry Teter rounded out
the top five. Taking the earlier heat wins were Rick Smith, Defibaugh
and Mike Wilson.
Also running over their time limit were the pure stocks as Roger
Coffman, Jim Byers, Bryan Mitchell, Jeff Kesling, and Gary Britton
finished in the top five. Heat wins went to Coffman, Mitchell, and Jay
Mike Simpson is on a roll with seven wins this year and now 6 in a
row. Simpson bested the other 4 cylinder drivers, Bill Robinson, Dave
Summers, Sonny Crayton, and Jeff Pennington. Winning the only heat was
Willie Robinson.
Dave Riley was the winner of the 30 lap Enduro warm-up which
preceded Sunday's 200 lap Enduro.

Next weekend is a double header as I-79 celebrates "Christmas in
July" with a special visit from Santa. Lots of presents will be handed
out with fun for everyone during the evening. On Sunday, July 4, the
third round of the West Virginia State Championship Series will pay
$2000 to the winner. Also on the card will be a $1000 prize for the
steel block late models. Pure stocks will run a regular heat and
feature program.
For information, call the track at 304-592-0916 or the office at

Summary for Interstate 79 Speedway 6-25-99

Shinnston Plumbing Late Models -
BUTCH MCGILL, Nolan Dalton, Gary Dalton, Mike Benedum, Doug Horton,
Mike Hawkins, Kevin Jones, Duke Pratt, Paul Wilmoth, Greg Lucas, Gary
Tonkery, Scott Miles, Mark Banal, Frank Wilson, Chad McDougal, Greg
Lemley, Robbie Scott, Lance Elson, Chuck Harper, DNS- L C Powers
HEATS - G. Lucas, G. Tonkery, B McGill

Semi Lates -
TIM SENIC, Jon Messenger, Shaun Poling, Birch Hare, Brian Tonkery, Rod
Rovello, Stanley Spooner, Rick Strickler, Rick Burrows, Duane Moreland,
Roy Gibson
HEATS - S. Poling, T. Senic

UMP Modifieds -
VIC VANDERGRIFT, Shawn Davis, Dave Defibaugh, Ron Parrish, Jerry Teter,
Louie Krushansky, Sam Henderson, Doug Thompson, Robbie Michael, Jerry
Dixon, Delmas Whiteman, Rick Smith, Tom Singleton, Jerry Garrett, Dana
McIntyre, Ray Perkins, Mike Wilson, Dave Groves, Jerry Haseleu, Bud
Cutlip, Greg Wilt, Ray Johnson,
DNS - Brent Trimble, Ron Clevenger, Sonny Stutler
HEATS - R. Smith, D. Defibaugh, M. Wilson

Pure Stocks -
ROGER COFFMAN, Jim Byers, Bryan Mitchell, Jeff Kesling, Gary Britton,
Ron Howard, Pat Frazier, Jay Martin, Randy Bohan, Ron Pyles, David
Settie, Darrell Burkhammer, William Shoemaker, Ronnie Nichols, Frank
Buzzo, David Tonkery, Gary Yost, Jon Wamsley, Troy Frazier, Gary
Frazier, Paul Watson DNS - Chuck Bloom
HEATS - R. Coffman, B. Mitchell, J. Martin

4 Cylinders -
MIKE SIMPSON, Bill Robinson, Dave Summers, Sonny Crayton, Jeff
Pennington, Arlie Sigley, Troy Kimbrew, William Robinson, Tom Simpson,
and D. Jay Miller.
HEAT - W. Robinson

Enduro Warm-up - David Riley