(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page
FOR FREE click below for 

Free Advertising until 2000



Interstate 79 Speedway

McGill Picks WV Championship Series Race #3

Shinnston, WV, July 4, 1999-Butch McGill held off all competition to pick up
the third leg of the West Virginia Championship Series.  McGill started on
the pole after picking up the dash and qualifying third.  Robbie Scott was
the fast qualifier with a 15.92.  Other top qualifiers were Nolan Dalton with
a 15.887, McGill and Tim Hitt with a 15.959.  Complete qualifying results
will follow.  After a near crash at the front of the field coming for the
green all cars were able to hold on.  Davey Johnson took a turn through the
infield and came out far back in the field.  Greg Lucas brought out the
yellow on lap two when he spun in turn four.  The only other yellow was on
lap 5 when Duke Pratt spun in the middle of turns three and four.  Johnson
slowly picked of cars and by lap 24 was challenging McGill for the lead. 
McGill held off challenges from Johnson on both the inside and outside and
went on to win.  Johnson was second followed by fast qualifier Robbie Scott. 
Rounding out the top ten were Tim Hitt, Robbie Blair, Mike Benedum, Doug
Horton, Mike Hawkins, Gary Dalton and Scott Miles.  McGill won the dash and
Robbie Blair and Doug Horton each picked up heats.
The steel block late models took the track for the first time in 1999 and
Rick Strickler showed the way by being fast qualifier and winning the feature
event.  Strickler started from the third starting spot after finishing third
in the dash.  Tim Senic led the field to the checker but Strickler quickly
moved into the lead.  Despite several cautions no one was able to challenge. 
At the checker it was Kevin Jones in second, Greg Lemley in third, Senic in
fourth and Shaun Poling rounding out the top five.  Complete qualifying
results will follow.  Tim Senic picked up the dash win and Greg Lemley and
Jon Messenger were the heat winners. 
Jeff Kesling pulled into the lead on the start of the pure stocks and was not
challenged.  Jim Byers held the second position for the entire race and Ron
Howard held on for third.  Byers and Kesling were the heat winners.
Late Model Qualifying - 1. Robbie Scott (15.82), 2. Nolan Dalton (15.887), 3.
Butch McGill (15.937), 4. Tim Hitt (15.959), 5. Robbie Blair (15.961), 6.
Mike Benedum (15.962), 7. Greg Lucas (16.022), 8. Doug Horton (16.085), 9.
Davey Johnson (16.103), 10. Ron Slavic (16.118), 11. Chad McDougal (16.134),
12. Gary Dalton (16.29), 13. Mike Hawkins (16.328), 14. Duke Pratt (16.477),
15. Scott Miles (16.63), 16. Shannon Webb (16.801)
Feature Finish - 1. Butch McGill, 2. Davey Johnson, 3. Robbie Scott, 4. Tim
Hitt, 5. Robbie Blair, 6. Mike Benedum, 7. Doug Horton, 8. Mike Hawkins, 9.
Gary Dalton, 10. Scott Miles, 11. Greg Lucas, 12. Shannon Webb, 13. Duke
Pratt, 14. Chad McDougal, 15. Nolan Dalton.  DNS - Ron Slavic Dash - Butch
McGill, Heats - Robbie Blair and Doug Horton
Steel Block Qualifying - 1. Rick Strickler (15.842), 2. Sonny Conley
(16.075), 3. M T Hall (16.121), 4. Tim Senic (16.154), 5. Greg Lemley
(16.156), 6. Jon Messenger (16.391), 7. Roy Gibson (16.394), 8. Shaun Poling
(16.601), 9. Tom Pennington (16.617), 10. Kenneth Gould (16.656), 11. David
Brown (16.888), 12. John Parsons (16.95), 13. Shane Quattro (17.074), 14.
Kevin Jones (17.313), Allan Teter (did not cross scales) and Brian Tonkery
Feature Finish - 1.  Rick Strickler, 2. Kevin Jones, 3. Greg Lemley, 4. Tim
Senic, 5. Shaun Poling, 6. Roy Gibson, 7. Sonny Conley, 8. Shane Quattro, 9.
Jon Messenger, 10. Kenneth Gould, 11. Allan Teter, 12. David Brown, 13. John
Parsons, 14. Tom Pennington, 15. M T Hall, DNS - Brian Tonkery.  Dash - Tim
Senic Heats - Greg Lemley and Jon Messenger
Pure Stock Feature Finish - 1.  Jeff Kesling, 2. Jim Byers, 3. Ron Howard, 4.
Ronnie Nichols, 5. Dave Tonkery, 6. Pat Frazier, 7. Frank Buzzo, 8. David
Settie, 9. Jon Wamsley, 10. Gary Frazier, 11. Roger Coffman, 12. Lloyd
Frazier, 13. Randy Bohan DNS - William Shoemaker, Gary Britton, Mike Frazier,
and Troy Frazier