(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page
FOR FREE click below for 

Free Advertising until 2000



  Home           Tracks           Sanctions           Drivers    News & Stories   Pictures         Links            Guestbook          Contact Us         

                Full Track Results

Interstate 79 Speedway
by Dixie Phillips   

McGill Grabs 4th Leg of WVSCS at I-79

 West Union, WV's Butch McGill won the third leg of the West Virginia
State Championship Series at Interstate 79 Speedway back on July 4 and
decided he liked the $1500. payday well enough to do it again on Friday
evening. The fourth round of the WVSCS was presented by Clinical &
Pharmacologic Research, Inc. of Morgantown.   The driver of the black
#1MC started in the fifth spot and sat in the 4th position for the first
half of the race while Robbie Scott and Chuck Harper battled for the top
spot.  On lap 23, McGill worked his way into the runner-up spot and set
his sights on race leader, Harper.  The last five laps were exciting to
watch  with McGill grabbing the lead from Harper as the white flag was
displayed.  Harper held on for second while Scott finished third.  Mark
Banal and Mike Hawkins were fourth and fifth.  Rounding out the top ten
were Nolan Dalton, John Wyer, Chad McDougal, Gary Tonkery (who was the
Harbaugh Accounting Hard Charger advancing from 15th to 9th) and Danny
 Harper set fast time of the evening for the Shinnston Plumbing Late
Models with a 16.047.  Heats were won by McGill, and Doug Horton.  Scott
won the fast dash.

 Roy Gibson of Masontown, WV, picked up his first ever semi late win at
I-79 as he bested early race leader, Rick Burrows, Scott Chenoweth, Tim
Senic, and Duane Moreland.  Heat wins were taken by Burrows and Rick

 Mike "Bird" Wilson of Sistersville, WV,  made a rare appearance at
I-79, but all the UMP modified drivers know that he is a force to be
reckoned with when he is running.  He showed that he is one of the best
with his win over Dave Defibaugh, Ron Clevenger, Louie Krushansky, and
Ron Parrish.  Krushansky, Wilson, and Clevenger were the heat winners.

 Waynesburg, PA's, Danny Staggers won his first pure stock feature event
of '99 as he held off a hard charging Jim  Byers.  Ron Howard, Frankie
Buzzo, and Gary Britton rounded out the top five.  Heat wins went to
Staggers and Dave Tonkery.

It was the ninth trip to victory lane for 4 cylinder driver Mike Simpson
of Hambleton, WV.  Simpson has been so very dominate in this class all
year.  He was followed to the line by Bill Robinson, Dave Summers, Jeff
Pennington, and Willie Robinson.  Simpson and Pennington won the

 Next Friday night, July 23, will be Fan Appreciation Night with
admission to the grandstands being just $5. for adults while children
under 12 are always admitted free.  Racing will be held in all five
divisions.  For information about the speedway, call the office at
304-592-3200 or the track on raceday at 304-592-0916.



 HEAT #1     1.B. McGill,   2.M. Banal,  3.M Hawkins,  4.S. Miles,  5.J.
6.G. Tonkery  7.D. Hamrick

 HEAT #2    1.D. Horton,  2.G. Dalton, 3.C. McDougal, 4.D. Pratt, 5.F.
6.J. Montgomery,  7.K. Jones

 DASH    (top four qualifiers)   1.R. Scott,  2.R. Slavic,  3.N.
Dalton,  4.C. Harper

FEATURE  (30 laps)
    BUTCH MCGILL,  Chuck Harper,  Robbie Scott, Mark Banal, Mike
Hawkins, Nolan Dalton, John Wyer, Chad McDougal, Gary Tonkery, Danny
Hamrick, Duke Pratt, Ron Slavic, Jason Montgomery, Frank Wilson, Doug
Horton, Kevin Jones, Gary Dalton, Scott Miles

   ROY GIBSON,  Rick Burrows, Scott Chenoweth, Tim Senic, Duane
Moreland, Shaun Poling, Jon Messenger, Sonny Conley, Birch Hare, Rick
Strickler,  Stanley Sponer, Chad McIntyre   DNS - Josh Adams, Darrell
Whitehair, and Robert Radcliff
 HEATS - R. Burrows and R. Strickler

 MIKE WILSON, Dave Defibaugh, Ron Clevenger, Louie Krushansky, Ron
Parrish, Vic Vandergrift, Ray Johnson, Sonny Stutler, Charles Cochran,
Doug Thompson, Ray Perkins, Dana McIntyre, Ed Reed, Robbie Michael,
Jerry Teter, Sam Henderson, Shawn Davis, Matt Rose, Rick Smith   DNS -
Jerry Dixon
 HEATS - L. Krushansky, M. Wilson,  R. Clevenger

 DANNY STAGGERS, Jim Byers, Ron Howard, Frankie Buzzo, Gary Britton,
Paul Watson, Jon Wamsley, Jeff Kesling, Dave Tonkery, William Shoemaker,
Lloyd Frazier, Tom Frazier, Jay Martin, Jim Bendishaw, Pat Frazier,
Randy Bohan, Gary Yost, Troy Frazier    DNS - Don Groves
 HEATS - D. Staggers and D. Tonkery

 MIKE SIMPSON, Bill Robinson, Dave Summers, Jeff Pennington, Willie
Robinson, Tom Pennington, Paul Summers, Troy Kimbrew, Bruce Satterfield,
Teddy Workman, Shawn Phillips   DNS - Sonny Crayton
 HEATS - M. Simpson and J. Pennington