(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page
FOR FREE click below for 

Free Advertising until 2000



Shady, Stine, Rinehart, Farrell, Little drive to mid-season championship honors

By Terry Whetstone

CLEARFIELD, PA (July 10, 1999) - Jake Shady of Beech Creek, PA picked up his 4th Budweiser Late Model Feature of the season, and the Mid-Season Points Championship. Joining the jubilant driver in victory lane were these repeat winners: Mike Stine of Smithmill in the Sids Subs Small Block Modifieds, Emory Rinehart, Jr. of Morrisdale in the Weisgarber Auto Sales Street Stocks, Chris Farrell of Clearfield in the Keystone Computer Four Cylinders, and Frank Little of Woodland in the NAPA Pure Stocks.

The late model feature came down to this line with Luke Hoffner and Jake Shady on the front row. Hoffner shot into the lead, and led much of the event, with Shady hounding him the entire distance. On lap 19 the final caution of the night flew when John Stine and Jamie Barber tangled on the frontstretch, with Barber hitting the wall hard. He was taken to Clearfield Hospital with a wrist and leg injury. When racing resumed Hoffner continued to lead, but heading for the white flag, Shady used the inside groove and took the lead from Hoffner, once out front, he went on to get his fourth win of the season. Hoffner was second with Kevin Lindemuth, Yvette Hahn, and Duane Stiner completing the top five. Teammates Jake Shady and Glenn Ray won the heats.

Mike Stine again showed his muscle, as he out ran John Ritter into the first turn. Once out front, Stine was out for a Saturday night drive, as he went on to claim his fifth feature win of the season, and the 25th of his career at HVS. Ritter held on for second, with George Sankey, Bobby Roos, and Ray McClure completing the top five. Heat wins were divided by George Sankey and Mike Stine.

Emory Rinehart, Jr., and Jerry Timchak brought the street stock down to the green flag, with Rinehart winning the race back to the flag. Once he had the lead, he worked his way to his seventh feature win of 1999, and his secnd straight. The top five, following Rinehart were: Timchak, Trent Ogden from 14th, Sam Swauger, and Todd Mathews. Heat race victories went to Denny Schmoke and Emory Rinehart, Jr.

Chris Farrell and Dan Smeal brought the four cylinders down for the start, with Farrell taking the lead. Once out front, Chris Luzier began hounding him for the lead, but Farrell was not to be denied, as he went on to claim his fourth win of 1999. Luzier held on for second, with Smeal third, Cecilia Olson fourth, and Joel Porter fifth. Heat wins went to Adam Nixon, Dan Smeal, and Leo Bomboy.

Warren Casher and Kevin Clark brought the pure stock feature down to a start, with Casher taking the lead. Casher had a comfortable lead, but Clark was not far behind, then while working lapped traffic on lap ten, Casher got into Clark and Clark spun. Both drivers tailed the field, with Frank Little acquiring the lead, once he had the spot, he held off Dan London for his fourth win of the season. The top five were: Little, London, Gary Little, Shawn Lamoreau, and Gary McElheny. Heat wins went to Kevin Clark and Gary McElheny.

HVS PIT NOTES: There were 81 cars in the pits, including: 14 late models, 15 modifieds, 20 street stocks, 21 four cylinders, and 11 pure stocks.

The Budweiser King of the Hill was won by Glenn Ray over Duane Stiner.

If it could go wrong, it did. A power failure halted racing action for about 1 hour. Action was again halted when Mr. Barber was injured in the late model feature, and the action was again halted during the late model feature when the fire engine had to leave for a structure fire a mile from the track. They left all firefighters and equipment that was not needed at the fire at the track.

The speedway would like to thank Hyde Volunteer Fire Company and Philipsburg Ambulance for their help during the power outage. The speedway also wants to thank the fans for their patience. This week there is a special for the street stocks, gates open at 5 racing is at 7. We hope to see you for the "Wildest Show, on Dirt!"



FEATURE: 1. Jake Shady, Beech Creek; 2. Luke Hoffner, Turbotville; 3. Kevin Lindemuth, Hazen; 4. Yvette Hahn, Alum Bank; 5. Duane Stiner, Houtzdale; 6. Glenn Ray, Tyrone; 7. George Fultz, Beech Creek; 8. John Stine, Williamsport; 9. Bobby Stokes, Milton; 10. Blain Luzier, Clearfield; 11. George Sankey, Osceola Mills; 12. Jamie Barber, Brookville; 13. Kevin Zimmerman, Reynoldsville; 14. Dean Colbert, Port Matilda


FEATURE: 1. Mike Stine, Smithmill; 2. John Ritter, Stroudsburg; 3. George Sankey, Osceola Mills; 4. Bobby Roos, Hyde; 5. Ray McClure, Troy; 6. Spencer Husted, West Decatur; 7. Bob Garvey, Allport; 8. Tim Owens, Shilo; 9. Marvin Williams, Tyrone; 10. Al Shaver, Finksburg, MD.


FEATURE: 1. Emory Rinehart, Jr., Morrisdale; 2. Jerry Timchak, Houtzdale; 3. Trent Ogden, Clearfield; 4. Sam Swauger, DuBois; 5. Todd Mathews, Sanborn; 6. Doug Tibbens, Curwensville; 7. Craig Lobb, Houtzdale; 8. Doug Radaker, Luthersburg; 9. Ray Billott, Mineral Springs; 10. Gretchen Hamer, Port Matilda


FEATURE: 1. Chris Farrell, Clearfield; 2. Chris Luzier, Clearfield; 3. Dan Smeal, Ramey; 4. Cecilia Olson, Clearfield; 5. Joel Porter, Clearfield; 6. Greg Luzier, Clearfield; 7. Randy Luzier, Mt Zion; 8. Don Henry, Falls Creek; 9. Paul Hummel, West Decatur; 10. Dave Farrell, Clearfield


FEATURE: 1. Frank Little, Woodland; 2. Dan London, Irishtown; 3. Gary Little, Woodland; 4. Shawn Lamoreau, Grampian; 5. Gary McElheny, Blandburg; 6. Kevin Clark, Grassflat; 7. Warren Casher, Black Moshannon; 8. Jason Bainey, Philipsburg, 9. Keith Bailey, Rockton; 10. Bob Bowery, Clearfield