(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page click below for 

AD Rates 

Big race coming up at your track contact us for a low rate so your track will be on every page on this site.



Track Profile

Volunteer Speedway

The Story of Volunteer Speedway

check below for 1999 points and driver roster

Website: www.bullsgap.com

Welcome to the "World’s Fastest Dirt Track," Volunteer Speedway, located in Bulls Gap, Tenn. SIT DOWN…STRAP IN…and HANG ON! You’re in store for the ride of your life, as you blaze around the high-banked (34 degree), 4/10-mile…East Tennessee track on a 12-second…120 mph average speed lap.

Wendell Wallace, of Batesville, Ark., is the current Late Model track record holder at "The Gap," having toured the track at 12:00-seconds, March 6, 1998. The overall track qualifying record was set in 1994 when the All-Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Cars visited the track. Steve Siegel, of New Oxford, Pa., turned a fast-lap of 11:84-seconds.

Volunteer Speedway was built by Hugh & Louise Goan, with construction work beginning in 1973 and the track opened for half a season in mid-1974. Danny Burks, of Richlands, Va., was the winner of the first-ever Late Model race at "The Gap," driving a ’73 Chevy Laguna to the checkered flag. Even today, the Burks’ family name is still recognized at the track, with younger brother, Dave, one of the top Late Model competitors.

In 1975, the first full season of racing at "The Gap," Knoxville-driver Herman Collins, captured the Late Model track points championship. When you look at the different drivers who have won track titles over the years, you’re looking at a "Who’s Who" list of legendary East Tennessee racing names.

Here’s a list of the various Late Model track champions over the years: Herman Collins, of Knoxville, in 1975; Red Ledford, of Morristown in 1976; Walter Ball, of Johnson City, in 1977; H.E. Vineyard, of Knoxville, in 1978, ’79, ’81, and ’84 (the only 4-time champion in the track’s history); Tootle Estes, of Knoxville, in 1980; "Little" Bill Corum, of Maynardville, in 1982; Bill Morton, of Church Hill, in 1983; Howard "Buzz" Collins, of Greeneville, in 1985; J.T. Kerr, of Rockford, in 1989.

Here’s a look at the Late Model track champions during the 1990s: Herman Goddard, of Knoxville, in 1990; Scott Sexton, of Pigeon Forge, in 1991 and ’95; Gary Myers, of Greeneville, in 1992; John A. Utsman, of Bluff City, in 1993; Dave Burks, of Abingdon, Va., in 1994; Randy Ford, of Johnson City, in 1996; Vic "The Thrill" Hill, of Knoxville, in 1997 and ’98, and Dale Ball, of Johnson City, in 1999.

Besides the track champions above, here’s a partial listing of other Late Model drivers who have won feature races at "The Gap" over the years: Steve Smith, Billy Ogle Jr., Tim Frye, Louis Hickey, Bobby Edens, Mike Clonce, Rusty Goddard, Brett Miller, Buddy Rogers, Frankie Barnes, Roger Best, David Bundren, Brian Ball, Joey McGaha, Rick Norris, Charles Byrd, Bryan Hendrix, Tommy Kerr, David Crabtree, Clay Kelley, Mark Vineyard, Doug Carpenter, Johnny Carr, Steve Best, Bob Street, Arnold Cinnamon, plus many more.

Volunteer Speedway is proud of its position in the world of dirt racing, recognized by the fans/drivers as one of the country’s top racing venues. Through the years, all the top racing sanctioning bodies have visited "The Gap."

The track hosted several events during the heyday of what was then the nation’s top dirt Late Model sanctioning organization, the National Dirt Racing Association (NDRA), during the late ‘70s and ‘80s. The Hav-A-Tampa Dirt Racing Series, Short Track Auto Racing Stars (STARS) DirtCar Racing League, Southern All-Stars, and the All-Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Cars, have thrilled the race fans at "The Gap" on many occasions.

In 1999, Volunteer Speedway they featured a 5-division, action-packed weekly racing program. The classes are Super Late Model, UMP (Open-Wheel) Modified, Super Stock, Street Stock, and Stock 4-Cylinder.

We hope you enjoyed your ride around the "World’s Fastest Dirt Track," and we look forward to seeing you every Saturday night at "The Gap!"

1999 Points

Volunteer Speedway Point Standings

Final Super Late Model Point Standings
  1. Dale Ball 652
  2. Kerry Jones 636
  3. Tommy Kerr 628
  4. Casey Huffman 586
  5. Gary Blanken 536
  6. Greg Burchett 514
  7. Herman Goddard 502
  8. Vic Hill 474
  9. Lloyd Osborne 432
  10. Scott Sexton 414
  11. David Crabtree 386
  12. Michael Jackson 382
  13. Carlos Campbell 372
  14. Dave Burks 362
  15. H.E. Vineyard 348
  16. John A. Utsman 318
  17. Jerry Broyles 314
  18. Jeff Silvers 280
  19. Jim Sisson 252
  20. Roger Best 248
  21. Jerry Travis 246
  22. Steve Carr 226
  23. Dennis Alverson 192
  24. Brogie Broyles 182
  25. Tim Frye 180
  26. Billy Ogle Jr. 148
  27. Steve Smith 136
  28. Brad Carty 126
  29. Rick Norris 120
  30. Terry Wolfenbarger 108
  31. Sandy Goddard 106
  32. Vic Chandler 104
  33. John Llewellyn 100
  34. Duayne Hommel 94
  35. Jackie Hughes 80
    Randle Chupp 80
  36. Eric Hux 76
    Mark Douglas 76
  37. Alan Poyner 70
  38. Bill Reed 66
  39. Brett Miller 60
  40. Anthony White 54
  41. Scott Bloomquist 50
  42. Warren Strickler 48
    Rick Rogers 48
    Randy Sauceman 48
  43. Mark Vineyard 44
  44. Jeff Wolfenbarger 42
  45. Tim Huddleston 38
  46. Marty Black 36
  47. Rex Richey 34
  48. Jason McMahan 32
  49. Anthony Burchette 30
  50. Billy Meredith 28
    Mark Leach 28
  51. Keith Longmire 26
    Dennis Stiles 26
  52. Mike Ball 20
  53. Clint Hill 18
  54. Harold Simpson 16
  55. Tommy Devaney 12
  56. J.W. Musslewhite 12
  57. Gusty Christenberry 4
    Phil Hall 4

Late Model Driver Roster

Volunteer Speedway - Bulls Gap, TN - Late Model Driver Roster


00  Dennis Stiles-Jonesborough, TN 

03  Tim Frye-Mosheim, TN

03  Michael Jackson-Greeneville, TN

B1  Dave Burks-Abingdon, VA

T1  Jerry Travis-Mosheim, TN

1  Vic Hill-Knoxville, TN 

2  H.E. Vineyard-Powell, TN 

2  Anthony White-Clinton, TN 

C3  Gusty Christenberry-Seymour, TN 

3  Terry Wolfenbarger-Knoxville, TN 

3  Steve Smith-Powell, TN

4  Mark Vineyard-Powell, TN

4T  Tommy Kerr-Rockford, TN

5  David Crabtree-Maryville, TN 

5  Bryan Hendrix-Knoxville, TN

6  Kerry Jones-Bristol, TN

7  Casey Huffman-Newport, TN

R8  Gary Blanken-Whitesburg, TN

10  Jason McMahan-Knoxville, TN 

11  Lloyd Osborne-Johnson City, TN 

12  Brad Carty-Kingsport, TN

12  Brett Miller-Greeneville, TN

15  Rick Norris-Kingsport, TN 

17  Duayne Hommel-Newport, TN 

17  Greg Burchett-Church Hill, TN 

21  Jeff Silvers-Bulls Gap, TN

21  Sandy Goddard-Knoxville, TN

22  Herman Goddard-Knoxville, TN 

25  Dale Ball-Johnson City, TN

26  John A. Utsman-Bluff City, TN

28  Jeff Wolfenbarger-Knoxville, TN 

28  Bill Reed-Knoxville, TN

34  Carlos Campbell-Jonesborough, TN

43  Brogie Broyles-Piney Flats, TN

52  Scott Sexton-Pigeon Forge, TN

52  Mark Douglas-Knoxville, TN

54  Marty Black-Knoxville, TN

66  Warren Strickler-Kingsport, TN

71  Dennis Alverson-Kingsport, TN

72  Jerry Broyles-Jonesborough, TN

77  Steve Carr-Rogersville, TN 

78  Tim Smith-Rogersville, TN 

84  Roger Best-Maryville, TN 

90  John Llewellyn-Knoxville, TN

144  Rick Rogers-Knoxville, TN 

201  Billy Ogle Jr.-Knoxville, TN

All information provided by Robert Walden