(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page click below for 

AD Rates 

Big race coming up at your track contact us for a low rate so your track will be on every page on this site.



Home           Tracks           Sanctions           Drivers    News & Stories   Pictures         Links            Guestbook          Contact Us

Press Release

JULY 31, 1999     


HAGERSTOWN, MD - The STARS National Dirt Car Racing League will make its
third appearance at the Hagerstown Speedway on Saturday night, August
14th as part of the two-day 52nd Anniversary Weekend. The 100-lap finale
will pay $10,000 to the winner. Joining the STARS late models will be
the Ernie's Salvage Yard 4-cyl pure stocks. Gates will open at 4 P.M.
with warm-ups at 6 P.M. Race time is 7 P.M.

 Former STARS champion and current point leader Donnie Moran of Dresden,
OH  will lead a large field of STARS drivers to Hagerstown to take on
the tough local drivers who have their sights on the $10,000 top prize
money. Moran leads all drivers on the national circuit with six feature
wins. Other STARS drivers expected include Tim Hitt of Weston, WV, Rick
Auckland of Zanesville, OH, former STARS champions Mike Blazano of
Parkersburg, WV, John Mason of Millersburg, OH and Davey Johnson of
Greensburg, PA. plus Chub Frank, Todd Andrews, Bob Salathe, R.J. Conley,
Mike Johnson and more. Promoter Frank Plessinger is expecting several
MACS Series drivers to stay around for the second night of racing.

 In 34 previous STARS events at the immaculate half-mile oval, 12
drivers have found their way to Victory Lane. Gary Stuhler of
Greencastle, PA heads the list with 11 victories including both 1999
STARS events at Hagerstown earlier in the year. Rodney Franklin of White
Post, VA has garnered six triumphs while Donnie Moran of Dresden, OH has
three to his credit. Drivers with two STARS wins include Steve Francis,
Jack Boggs of Grayson, KY, Bart Hartman of Zanesville, OH and Bob
Wearing Jr. Drivers with one win include Larry Moore, Freddy Smith,
Nathan Durboraw, Bob Wearing Sr. and Buddy Armel.

 Gary Stuhler, who has won four of the last five STARS races will be out
to get his third STARS win of the year. Other local drivers who want to
turn back the STARS include Durboraw, Franklin, Roy Deese, Jr., Jeremy
Miller, Jeff Robinson, Marvin Winters, Al Richards, Rick Workman and
Frankie Plessinger. 


HAGERSTOWN, MD.  The Mid-Atlantic Championship Series for Super Dirt
Late Models will kick-off the two day 52nd Anniversary Weekend at the
Hagerstown Speedway on Friday night, August 13th. It will be the second
visit for the MACS series at Hagerstown and Promoter Frank Plessinger is
expecting a large field of cars for the 50-lap $7,000-to-win feature
event. Joining the late models will be the late model sportsman and pure
stocks in complete programs of qualifying and feature events.  Race time
is 8 P.M. with gates opening at 6 P.M.

 While most late model sanctions include time-trials, the MACS series is
fan friendly by eliminating the traditional two-lap qualifying against
the clock. Drivers qualify through heat events for the 50-lap feature in
the MACS Series. This format has produced 10 different winners in the 13
events to-date. While the late model feature is a non-point event, the
late model sportsman and  pure stocks will be in action in extra
distance double point summer championship events.

 Gary Stuhler won the 35-lap Shorty-Bowers Bull Durham Memorial in MACS
first visit to Hagerstown on May 1st and is a favorite to open the big
Anniversary Weekend with a win. While Stuhler considers the Hagerstown
Speedway his home track, the Greencastle, PA driver has been on the road
enough to lead all drivers with the most career wins on the MACS circuit
with nine. In the past five years, Stuhler has won more special events
at Hagerstown than any driver and seems to be at his best when the
different late model series invade the half-mile oval.

 Lynn Geisler will lead the MACS drivers into Hagerstown. Robbie Blair,
Todd Andrews, Scott Brode and Scott Rhodes are some of the MACS drivers
expected to make the tow into Hagerstown where they will face local
drivers like Nathan Durboraw, Rodney Franklin, Jeff Robinson, Roy Deese
Jr, Rick Workman, Charlie Schaffer, Frankie Plessinger, Jeremy Miller
and more.. Not only will the MACS drivers have the Hagerstown regulars
to contend with, but several drivers from the STARS National Dirtcar
Racing League are expected to come in a day early to pick-up some extra
cash since they will be racing the following day.

 On Saturday night, The STARS late models will round out the 52nd
Anniversary Weekend with a 100-lap $10,000-to-win feature event
beginning at 7 P.M. The Ernie's Salvage Yard 4-cyl pure stocks will be
part of the double header program.

 The 52nd Anniversary Weekend is the only two-day event for the late
models where race fans will have a chance to see two of the top late
model series. There is free special overnight camping on the speedway
grounds. For addition information contact the speedway office at (301)
582-0640 or checkout the internet at www.hagerstownspeedway.com.