(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page click below for 

AD Rates 

Big race coming up at your track contact us for a low rate so your track will be on every page on this site.



Home           Tracks            Sanctions            Drivers    News & Stories   Pictures         Links            Guestbook          Contact Us

           McKean County


            By ROD BIEHLER   

Smethport, Pa. — Todd Andrews of Eldred, Pa. won the biggest race before the biggest crowd in the history of McKean County Raceway Saturday night. Andrews won the “HUBBER 50” Mid—Atlantic Championship Series Late Model event worth $5,180. Also notching wins were David Miller of Wellsville, NY. in the Super Stocks, Eric Ensell of Portville, NY. in the Sportsman division and Keith Bidwell of Eldred, Pa in the Street Stocks.

Thirty—eight Late Models were on hand for the MACS race, with Bob Close, Kenny Trevitz, Ed Carley and Rob Blair posting heat wins. The two last chance B—Main wins went to David Lyon and Lynn Geisler.

The 50 lap MACS race, started with Jeff Hoffman and Rob Blair taking the green from their front row starting spots. Hoffman from Carendon, Pa. quickly put some distance between himself and the rest of the 24 car starting field as he led for 46 laps in spite of three cautions. Meanwhile Andrews, who started sixteenth had worked his way into the top 5 when a caution came out for the MCR 1999 Late Model Champion Bob Close on lap 27 as he lost the handle in turn three. Twelve laps later Andrews avoided a skirmish between Blair, Rick Isadore and Dick Barton to move into second but was running out of laps to catch Hoffman, Lap 44 had the final caution of the race thrown as The MACS Point Leader Geisler spun out in turn two. That made it a drag race to the checkers. Andrews chased Hoffman for two laps before making the pass to the front on lap 46. Once by Andrews held off Hoffman to win by a car length. The win was his fourth of the year and third straight, giving him 11 career MACS Feature victories. In victory lane He noted that he put the hardest tires he had on and beat the s——t out of them to post the win.

In wasn’t a bad pay day for Hoffman either as he picked up $2,200 plus $960 in lap money giving him a $3160 total. Dick Barton, Isadore and Dutch Davies completed the top five, with Close making the hard charge from the back of the pack to finish sixth. Trevitz, Blair, Al Brewer and Ron Davies behind the wheel of Miles Stizinger car rounded out the top ten.

Dave Miller made a last lap past in turn four of race long leader Ed “Meatball” Armstrong to win the 25 lap Super Stock feature. It was his second feature win of the year.

Eric Ensell also won his second Sportsman feature of the season as he held off Joe Layfield for the narrow win in the 20 lap event.

Keith Bidwell led from green to checker to notch his first ever MCR feature win in the 25 lap Street Stock Feature over a charging Jim Parmenter.

This was the final night of racing at MCR for the season. Tickets for the banquet to be held on November 13 at the Courtyard Restaurant in Smethport, Pa are now on sale by contacting Dennis and Peggy Shutt in Wellsville, Ny.

MACS Late Model Feature finish, Todd Andrews, Jeff Hoffman, Dick Barton, Rick Isadore, Dutch Davies, Bob Close, Kenny Trevitz, Rob Blair, Al Brewer, Ron Davies, Rick Briggs, Bob Baldwin, Travis Asel, John Haggerty, Ed Carley, Ike Fanton, Lynn Geisler, Dale Applebee, Kirk Bradley, Scott Rhodes, Ward Schell, Tim Hoffman, David Lyon, Dave Norton.