(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page click below for 

AD Rates 

Big race coming up at your track contact us for a low rate so your track will be on every page on this site.






                                                     September 17, 1999


STRONGSTOWN, PA- Mike Blose of Dayton, PA won his third late model feature Friday night of Dog Hollow Speedway, to lead a host of repeat winners for the evening. Gallitzens Denny Petyak took home his third super stock feature win, while Rich Britton of Johnstown was the "Top Dog" in the street stock main event, for his third win.

Bill Sigafoes of Blairsville picked up his first career win in the pure stock feature, to become the nights only new winner.

Mike Blose and Rick Isadore brought the 23 late models down for the start, with Blose taking the lead. He sat through several early cautions, then had to ward off the efforts of Sam Stile, who was pressuring him since moving into second on lap 12. Stile had pulled along side of Blose a number of times, and the pair ran door-to-door several times in the closing laps, but it was Blose who prevailed this time, and took his third win of 1999. Stile was second, with Isadore, Dave Lyon, and Rodney Phillips completing the top five. Mike Blose, Rick Isadore, and Rodney Phillips were victorious in the heats.

The super stock feature was a case of "yellow Fever" as numerous cautions slowed the event, before even one lap was in. Yvette Hahn led the field for many laps, but none were green flag. When the first official lap was scored Tim Mullen was the leader, before Denny Petyak worked his way from sixth to the lead on the second lap. Once in the lead, Patyak set it on cruise control, until the closing laps, when Shawn McGarvey began to pressure him for the lead, but simply ran out of time. The top five were: Petyak, McGarvey, Mullen, Ray Weaver, and Louie Jacoby. Yvette Hahn and Mike Shoemaker won the preliminaries.

The street stocks were in the spotlight, in more ways than one, as they were going for $600 in the Top Dog Special. Jerry Lower started on the outside of the front row, and led the event from flag to flag, with Jerry Bookwalter right on his tail. The duo battled the entire 25 laps, but both lost the race after it ended in the tech area. The first legal car to cross the line was that of Rich Britton, who was originally third. The official top five were: Britton, Russ Hamer, Bill Lyons, John Ponikvar, and Bill Phillips. Qualifying wins went to: Scott Stien, Lenny Wright, Tom Snyder, and Shawn Mogle in the heats, and Bill Phillips and Frank Brociaus in the twin B-Mains.

George Scanlan and Jim Kirsch led the pure stocks down for the start, with Kirsh leading the first lap, and then loosing a wheel. That eliminated him, and gave the lead over to Scanlan, who held of Henry Wilfong for the win. In a post race inspection, both Scanlan and Wilfong were disqualified. Sigafoes, who came home third was awarded the win. The top five were Sigafoes, Brian Parsley, Terry Nihart, John Mazey, and Daren Desch. Heat race wins went to Amy Hawk and Jim Kirsch.

DOG TRACKS: An even 100 cars jammed the pits, including: 23 late models, 20 super stocks, 43 street stocks, and 14 pure stocks.....This week is the final point race, with regular racing in the late models, super stocks, street stocks, and pure stocks, plus the small block modifieds/ six cylinder modifieds will be back for another visit.....Circle October 2nd on your calendar as "STARFIRE" and D&D Wood Trophy night will present FIREWORKS!. A regular program will also be presented.....October 9th is the night the School Buses return to Dog Hollow, so make sure you make plans to attend that night too. In the mean time, gates open at 5 for the competitors, 6 for the fans, and racing is set for 8 PM sharp! Make sure you plan to attend and hear the champions Howl!



September 17, 1999


LATE MODEL: 1. Mike Blose, Dayton; 2. Sam Stile, Charleroi; 3. Rick Isadore, Smethport; 4. Dave Lyon, Sugar Grove; 5. Rodney Phillips, Punxatawney; 6. Bud Lundy, Reynoldsville; 7. Jerry Redden, Mahaffey; 8. Gene Kaine, Johnstown; 9. Luke Hoffner, Turbotville; 10. Jamie Barber, Brookville; 11. Joe Poracsky, Johnstown; 12. Tommy Kitchen, Indiana; 13. Tony Raneri, Johnstown; 14. Mike Stair, Brookville; 15. John Stine, Williamsport; 16. John Yamrick, Clymer; 17. Travis Fleegle, Alum Bank; 18. John Valenti, Clymer; 19. Tony Burke, Sarver; 20. Spankey Daugherty, Freeport; 21. Bud McClelland, Beaverdale; 22. Bernie Whiteford, New Washington; 23. Mike McKendry, Brookville


SUPER STOCK: 1. Denny Petyak, Gallitzen; 2. Shawn McGarvey, Coalport; 3. Tim Mullen, Ebensburg; 4. Ray Weaver, Home; 5. Louie Jacoby, Jr., Fernwood; 6. Todd Mathews, Sanborn; 7. Dwayne Taneyhill, Bellwood; 8. Tracy Potter, Karthaus; 9. Ed Brady, Clearfield; 10. Sam Gaston, Barnsboro


STREET STOCK: 1. Rich Britton, Johnstown; 2. Russ Hamer, Spruce Creek; 3. Bill Lyons, Shelocta; 4. John Ponikvar, Cannonsburg; 5. Bill Phillips, Blandburg; 6. Bob Bean, Emlinton; 7. Scott Stien, Cherry Tree; 8. Leroy Pershing, Cookport; 9. Joey Pluta, Carinbrook; 10. Shawn Mogle, Ernest


PURE STOCK: 1. Bill Sigafoes, Blairsville; 2. Brian Parsley, Brush Valley; 3. Terry Nihart, Ebensburg; 4. John Mazey, Bolivar; 5. Daren Desch, Tyrone; 6. John Novak, Derry; 7. Bill Habenthal, Blairsville; 8. Jim Kirsch, Ebensburg; 9. Tony Himes, Blacklick


RD #1 Box 165                                                             Fax (814) 672-5598

Irvona, PA 16656         e mail terryw@nrc.net             Phone (814) 672-3077