(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page
FOR FREE click below for 

Free Advertising until 2000



July 10, 1999


 UNION, KY - Steve Francis of Ashland, KY picked up his second United Dirt
Track Racing Association Hav-A-Tampa Dirt Racing Series win of the season in
the Action Auto Mart Rocket/Monte Carlo Saturday night with a victory in the
Ironman 100 at Florence Speedway.

 Francis held off Skip Arp of Georgetown, TN in the Curtis Equipment
GRT/Monte Carlo and Wendell Wallace of Batesville, AR in the Monday Trucking
GRT/Monte Carlo for the $15,000 top prize.  The third place finish by
Wallace puts him on top of the Hav-A-Tampa point standings by 25 points over
Dale McDowell of Rossville, GA.

 McDowell looked like he was on his way to his sixth win of the season with
less than 15 laps to go, holding a half-straightaway lead over Francis.
But, on lap 89, McDowell slowed in turn three with a mechanical problem on
his Dover Cylinder Heads GRT/Monte Carlo and was out of the race.  McDowell
was credited with an 18th place finish.

 In the 12-lap dash to the checkered flag, the top five cars were running
close together on the fast -mile Clay oval.  Francis was able to cover the
inside groove to beat Arp, and Wallace to the checkered flag.

The 1996 Hav-A-Tampa Champion Freddy Smith of Knoxville, TN took the fourth
spot in the Christenberry Trucking and Farms GRT/Monte Carlo, and fifth went
to Dan Schlieper of Pewaukee, WI in the Pro Power Racing Engines
Rayburn/Monte Carlo.

 Sixth through tenth spots went to Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC, Darrell
Lanigan of Union, KY, Rick Eckert of York, PA, Bill Frye of Greenbrier, AR,
and the defending and three-time HAT Champion Scott Bloomquist of
Mooresburg, TN.

Bloomquist led the first lap from the pole position before Francis made an
inside move to take over the point on lap two.  McDowell worked his way up
from the seventh starting spot to take over second place from Arp on lap 29.
While Francis worked lapped traffic, McDowell closed the gap, and took over
the point on lap 60.

While McDowell pulled away from the rest of the field, Francis and Arp
battled for second spot.  Bart Hartman of Zanesville, OH had charged from
the 16th starting spot to fourth, and by lap 64 moved up to challenge Arp
for third.  Contact between Hartman and a lapped car on lap 71 broke a tie
rod end, putting Hartman out of the race.

As the race got longer, McDowell got faster.  But when something broke in
the back end of McDowell's car, it slowed him to a crawl to bring out the
seventh and final caution flag of the race.  All McDowell could do was watch
the win and the point lead escape him from the infield.

"The track rubbered up at about the halfway point, and that was bad for me
and good for Dale," Francis said.  "I feel bad for Dale because it was his
race, but winning here is special for me.  I can remember coming here as a
kid, and I always treasure a victory at this place."

The victory moved Francis to within six points of Bloomquist for the third
spot in the HAT point standings.

Arp was the fast qualifier among the 47 entrants with a time 18.366 seconds.
Borla Muffler 10-lap Heat Race wins were posted by Bloomquist, Francis, Mike
Jewell of Scottsburg, IN, and Wallace.  The Pace American Trailers 15-lap
Consolation Race was won by Jim Curry of Norman, IN, and Steve Casebolt of
Richmond, IN won the 15-lap Polaris ATVs second Consolation Race.

The Hav-A-Tampa point battle moves to Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, IN on
Sunday night for a 75-lap $10,000-to-win main event.  The HAT series then
moves to Georgia's Rome Speedway for a 100-lap $15,000-to-win event on July

For the latest UDTRA news, point standings, statistics, event schedule,
television schedule, track, and driver information visit the Official Web
Site of the Hav-A-Tampa Dirt Racing Series on the Internet at


1. 2 15 Steve Francis  Ashland, KY  Chev. 100 $15,300
2. 5 31 Skip Arp  Georgetown, TN  Chev. 100 $8,800
3. 4 6m Wendell Wallace Batesville, AR  Chev. 100 $5,300
4. 12 00 Freddy Smith  Knoxville, TN  Chev. 100 $3,800
5. 14 s9 Dan Schlieper  Pewaukee, WI  Chev. 100 $3,450
6. 9 53 Ray Cook  Brasstown, NC  Ford 100 $3,050
7. 20 29 Darrell Lanigan  Union, KY  Ford 100 $2,500
8. 8 24 Rick Eckert  York, PA  Pont. 100 $2,550
9. 21 66 Bill Frye  Greenbrier, AR  Pont. 100 $2,300
10. 1 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN  Ford 100 $2,300
11. 13 71 Don O'Neal  Martinsville, IN  Chev. 99 $1,500
12. 11 11 Clint Smith  Griffin, GA  Pont. 99 $1,300
13. 10 46 Earl Pearson Jr.  Jacksonville, FL  Chev. 99 $1,200
14. 17 7c Jim Curry  Norman, IN  Chev. 99 $1,100
15. 23 CV3 Clayton Christenberry Knoxville, TN  Chev. 99 $1,000
16. 24 18 Brandon Kinzer (R) Allen, KY  Ford 97 $975
17. 15 7g Troy Green  Florence, KY  Chev. 96 $950
18. 7 17m Dale McDowell  Rossville, GA  Chev. 88 $1,225
19. 6 83 Scott James  Lawrenceburg, IN Chev. 84 $900
20. 18 c9 Steve Casebolt  Richmond, IN  Ford 73 $900
21. 16 75 Bart Hartman  Zanesville, OH  Pont. 69 $900
22. 22 89 Marshall Green  Dalton, GA  Chev. 34 $900
23. 19 68 Tim Hitt  Weston, WV  Chev. 33 $1,000
24. 3 9j Mike Jewell  Scottsburg, IN  Chev. 14 $900

LAP LEADERS:  Bloomquist, 1; Francis, 2-59; McDowell, 60-88; Francis, 89-100
FAST QUALIFIER:  Arp, 18.366 Seconds
BORLA MUFFLER HEAT RACE WINNERS:  Bloomquist, Francis, Jewell, and Wallace
PROVISIONALS:  Christenberry (4) and Kinzer (3)
HAV-A-TAMPA SHOOTOUT QUALIFIERS:  Lanigan, O'Neal, Curry, T. Green, James,
and Casebolt (Promoter's Choice).

CONSOLATION RACE RESULTS - 15 LAPS (Top Three Transfer To Main Event):

 PACE AMERICAN TRAILERS 1ST CONSY:  1. Curry; 2. Hitt; 3. Frye; 4. Shane
Yoder, Maumee, OH; 5. Brandon Ball (R), West Plains, MO; 6. Rick Corbin,
Independence, KY; 7. Jesse James Lay, Walton, KY; 8. Steve Landrum,
Erlanger, KY; 9. Gary Green, Independence, KY; 10. Gary Engle, Newport, KY;
11. Robert Hensley, Richwood, KY; 12. Sam Patrick, Plaquemin, LA.

 POLARIS ATVs 2ND CONSY:  1. Casebolt; 2. Lanigan; 3. M. Green; 4. Audie
McWilliams, Walton, KY; 5. Brian Asbury, Mitchell, IN; 6. Brandon Green,
Walton, KY; 7. Kinzer; 8. Jerry Rice, Verona, KY; 9. John Sizemore,
Middletown, OH; 10. Christenberry; 11. John Holt, Independence, KY; 12.
Dennis Erb Jr. (R), Carpentersville, IL.

HAV-A-TAMPA POINT STANDINGS THROUGH 7/10/99:  1. Wendell Wallace, 3327; 2.
Dale McDowell, 3302; 3. Scott Bloomquist, 3172; 4. Steve Francis, 3166; 5.
Freddy Smith, 3122; 6. Rick Eckert, 3029; 7. Skip Arp, 2997; 8. Ray Cook,
2943; 9. Dan Schlieper, 2928; 10. Bill Frye, 2927; 11. Earl Pearson Jr.,
2820; 12. Billy Moyer, 2469; 13. Dennis Erb Jr. (R), 2181; 14. Brian
Birkhofer, 2157; 15. Clayton Christenberry, 2108; 16. Brandon Kinzer (R),
1937; 17. Brandon Ball (R), 1888; 18. Rick Aukland, 1828; 19. Marshall
Green, 1768; 20. Shannon Babb, 1401.

R - Denotes Rookie of the Year Candidate