(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page click below for 

AD Rates 

Big race coming up at your track contact us for a low rate so your track will be on every page on this site.



Home           Tracks           Sanctions           Drivers    News & Stories   Pictures         Links            Guestbook          Contact Us



22 August 1999

Steve Inch




SELINSGROVE, PA – Fred Rahmer of Salfordville returned to Selinsgrove Speedway on Sunday night and recorded his fifth win of the season at the track in the 25-lap Sprint Car feature.

For Rahmer, at the wheel of the Hamilton Motorsports No. 77, the win marked the 42nd of his career at the Snyder County oval.

Scott Haus of Hamburg powered to his first win of the season at Selinsgrove in the 20-lap Late Model feature, while Donnie Murphy of Minersville won his first career race in the 12-lap Pro Stock feature.

Selinsgrove Speedway will present a special racing program featuring the traveling All Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Cars and Pro Stocks this Sunday, August 29 beginning at 7 p.m.

The race format for the Sprint Cars will include time trials, heats, B-Main and 30-lap A-Main paying $5,000 to the winner. The defending winner of the race is Greg Hodnett of Memphis, Tenn.

Sophomore Sprint Car driver James Chesson started on the outside of the front row in the Sprint Car feature and powered into the lead at the start of the race. Chesson was chased by original polesitter Rod Stroup for the first seven laps.

On a lap eight restart, seventh-place starter Brook Weibley moved past both fourth-place starter Mike Erdley and Stroup for the second spot, while 12th-place starter Fred Rahmer advanced to third.

A circuit later, Rahmer drove into second and set his sites on the leader. On the 13th lap, Rahmer closed in on Chesson in lapped traffic and made the winning pass in turn four. At the same time, the caution flag unfurled for James’s brother, PJ Chesson, who stopped on the frontstretch.

Following a fuel stop on the 13th lap, Rahmer was the leader with J. Chesson, Weibley, Stroup and tenth-place starter Lance Dewease racing in the top five.

The event’s final caution flag unfurled on lap 23, breaking up the battle for second between J. Chesson and Lance Dewease. When the race resumed, Rahmer drove to a convincing win over Jeff Shepard, who started the event 11th and rocketed from his fifth-place restart position.

Dewease, Weibley and Todd Hestor completed the top five.

Outside front row starter Pen Kester broke into the lead at the start of the Late Model feature. Kester was trailed by fourth-place starter Eric Hons for the first five laps before seventh-place starter Scott Haus advanced to second.

A circuit later, Haus moved in behind the leader and made the winning pass with an inside move entering turn one. Once in front, Haus began to stretch his lead to almost a straightaway.

The red flag stopped the race on lap 14 when Jeff Braim and Scott Lupfer collided in turn one. According to EMTs, Lupfer was transported to an area hospital with a possible leg injury.

When the race resumed, 10th-place starter Jeff Smith stormed by Kester for second and closed in on the leader. Smith was in striking distance for the final five laps but could not pull alongside of the leader. Haus took the checkered flag ahead of Smith, Chris Shuey, Kester and Hons.

Outside front row starter Donnie Murphy took the lead at the start of the Pro Stock feature and wired the field for his first career win. During the first half of the event, teammates Gary Kerstetter and Dave Brouse dueled for the runner up spot.

Then, in the final laps, Murphy and Brouse raced bumper-to-bumper for the lead and eventual win. Several times, Brouse tried to pull alongside of the leader but could not find enough horsepower.

Murphy took the checkered flag with Brouse right behind him. Kerstetter, Doug Hendricks and Dave Inch completed the top five.


Sprint Cars – 24 Entries

25-Lap A-Main: 1) 77 Fred Rahmer 2) 1 Jeff Shepard 3) 88H Lance Dewease 4) 32 Brook Weibley 5) 7M Todd Hestor 6) 22 James Chesson 7) 88 Todd Shaffer 8) 9 Rod Stroup 9) 117 Mike Erdley 10) 7 Keith Kauffman 11) 88F Mike Walter 12) 87 George Suprick 13) 8C Will Cramer 14) 77T Jess Thomas 15) 3 Bob Bennett 16) 17B Troy Whitesel 17) 33 Ron Kramer 18) 623 Todd Bertolini 19) 53 Shawn Keen 20) 76 P.J. Chesson 21) 3X Mick Waistitowski 22) 80R Brett Romano 23) 99 Dan Long 24) 8 John Miller

Heat Winners: George Suprick, James Chesson and Mike Erdley

Late Models – 28 Entries

20-Lap A-Main: 1) 1H Scott Haus 2) 32 Jeff Smith 3) 21 Chris Shuey 4) 19J Pen Kester 5) 45 Eric Hons 6) 06 Mike Lupfer 7) 43A Carl Billet 8) 98 Bobby Croop 9) 2 Steve Campbell 10) 75T Terry Neitz 11) 27 Jim Yoder 12) 17 Kenny Dickson 13) 8 Jimmy Adams 14) 27X Brett Schadle 15) G3 Jim Gearhart 16) 99 Ken Stitt, Sr. 17) 00 Mike Bingaman 18) 2J Jeff Rine 19) 44J Jeff Braim 20) 77L Scott Lupfer 21) 7 Dale Kerstetter 22) 3 Tim Wilson 23) 91 Tim Gray 24) 21K Kory Sites

Heat Winners:Tim Gray, Scott Haus, Jim Yoder

Consolation Winner: Terry Neitz

Pro Stocks – 19 Entries

12-Lap A-Main: 1) 19 Donnie Murphy 2) 6-Pak Dave Brouse 3) 12-pak Gary Kerstetter 4) 8 Doug Hendricks 5) 28 Dave Inch 6) 11 Jake Buck 7) 07 Tim Krape 8) 20 Tony Rocuskie 9) 66 Scott Dorman 10) XR7 Jerry Blauch 11) 48 Matt Drum 12) 24 –Pak Willaim Mitch 13) 44 Bruce Drum 14) 1 Harry Bell, Jr. 15) 99 Kyle Bachman 16) 77X Tom Krape 17) 25 Gerald Kratzer 18) 00 Joey Keister (DNS) 19) 17B Bob Bertasavage

Heat Winners: Tim Krape and Kyle Bachman