(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page
FOR FREE click below for 

Free Advertising until 2000




By Judy Gower

MARKLEYSBURG, PA..Like a man on a mission, Oakland, MD's Jeff Thomas
outdistanced his competition and handily won the Late Model feature at
Roaring Knob Raceway Park on Sunday.  East Liverpool, Ohio's Larry Kugel
picked up his fifth E-mod win, while Terry Hall of Pennsboro, WV notched his second Dwarf Car victory, and  Monongahela's Pat Weldon made his long tow to the Knob worthwhile  by winning the Pure Stock main event.

Thomas took the lead at the drop of the green, and held the point to
the checker giving him win number two on the season.  Along the way several  cautions would tighten the field, but Thomas was not to be denied, and he pulled away after each restart.  Rob King ran an excellent race for second,while newcomer Tim Reed adapted well to the Markleysburg oval, and finished up in the third slot.  Several good battles for position developed as the race went on, and the final rundown found Mike Benedum fourth, twelfth starting Tom Myers, fifth, and last week's winner Bob Wearing Jr. was sixth. 

Seven through ten were Bill VanMeter, Chris Conner, Nolan Dalton, and Wes
Bonebrake.  Conner and Benedum were the heat race winners.

The most exciting race of the evening was the non-stop E-Mod feature,
which had three different leaders vying for the checkered flag.  Ray Johnson
grabbed the early lead and held off Shawn Davis for ten laps before Davis
finally slipped by.  Meanwhile, last week's winner, Kugel, was steadily
working his way through the pack and caught Davis by the twelfth lap.  Davis
appeared to have enough to hold off the hard charging Kugel and was still in
front as they came for the checker; but a last ditch effort by Kugel paid
off, and he made the winning pass right at the flag.  Davis was second with
Johnson close behind for third.  Robbie Michael turned in a fine run for
fourth with Renee Dean rounding out the top five.  Kugel  also picked up the
heat race win.

The action packed Pure Stock feature became a two car battle between
front runners, Weldon , and Jack Rosenberger.  Weldon took off with the lead,but Rosenberger got by on the next go round as Weldon went high.  Weldon dogged Rosenberger for several laps until late in the race when Rosenberger slipped out of his groove putting Weldon back in the lead.  The final yellow  for a spinning Wayne Jordan set the stage for a two lap shootout to the checker, and Weldon was able to narrowly defeat Rosenberger for his first win  at the Knob.  Rosenberger settled for second with Robbie Howell third, Scott Herring fourth, and Jeff Keener fifth.  The three heat race winners were Bart Tressler, Weldon and Chuck Capana.

The caution free Dwarf Car feature saw Terry Hall hold off four-time
winner John Cogar for the win.  Greg Shingleton was third,  twelfth starting
John Mollick finished fourth with Jeff Barclay fifth.  Cogar and Ron Nestor 
picked up heat race wins.

Sunday, July 18 will find the Ken Nicholson & Sons Lumber Late Models
back in action along with the Caney Valley Marine E-Mods, Country Charm Pure Stocks, and the Stone House Restaurant Dwarf Cars.  It's also Riverside Motor Sales Driver Autograph Day at Roaring Knob Raceway Park.  Gates open at 3pm with the race program set to begin promptly at 5pm.  For additional
information call 724-329-0306 or 724-329-8196.


Ken Nicholson & Sons Lumber Late Models: 
Heat Race Winners:  Chris Conner, Mike Benedum
Feature:  JEFF THOMAS, Rob King, Tim Reed, Mike Benedum, Tom Myers, Bob
Wearing Jr., Bill VanMeter, Chris Conner, Nolan Dalton, Wes Bonebrake, Dwane Shultz, Ron Reese, Bob Moskey, Buddy VanMeter

Caney Valley Marine E-Mods:
Heat Race Winner:  Larry Kugel
Feature:  LARRY KUGEL, Shawn Davis, Ray Johnson, Robbie Michael, Renee Dean,Ken Herman, Greg Wilt, Ron Clevenger, Buck Goodwin

Country Charm Pure Stocks:
Heat Race Winners:  Bart Tressler, Pat Weldon, Chuck Capana
Feature:  PAT WELDON, Jack Rosenberger, Robbie Howell, Scott Herring, Jeff Keener, Joe Fullerton, Bart Tressler, Chuck Capana, Steve Sickles, Mick
Slaubaugh, Wayne Jordan, Bob Nelson, Scott Spade, Greg Hauger, Mike Jones,Bill Jenkins, Brian Taylor, Mike Kepple, Tom Durst (DNS), Marshall Coleman (DNS), Bob Medved (DNS), Jim Bendishaw (DNS), Rich Apolito (DNS) Terry Mitchell (DNS)

Stone House Restaurant Dwarf Cars:
Heat Race Winners:  John Cogar, Ron Nestor
Feature:  TERRY HALL, John Cogar, Greg Shingleton, John Mollick, Jeff
Barclay, Eric Hay, Jeff Davis, Lynn Knepper, Ron Nestor, Billy Boo Bauer,
Steve Mason, Tom Shomar, Mike Hay, Frank Dunkle, Jr.