(Logo design by Karen Teets)

                     Home    Tracks  Sanctions  Drivers   News & Stories 

                          Pictures    Links   Guestbook   Contact Us



Advertise Here 
or on any page
FOR FREE click below for 

Free Advertising until 2000



Home           Tracks           Sanctions           Drivers    News & Stories   Pictures         Links            Guestbook          Contact Us

Full Track Results

Cumberland Winners Fries, Gordon, Sponaugle by Ray Welsh

CUMBERLAND, MD July 17. on D.A.R.E. Nite and A.R.C,H. Fan Club Nite the Price Budweiser 25 lap late Model feature winner was Andy Fries, of Mercersburg, PA, his lst win this year. The Hoosier Tire Semi— late feature was Bob Gordon, of Keyser, WV. Gordon, the current point leader, picked up his 6th win this year. Young Matt Sponaugle, of Wiley Ford, WV, who just graduated from high school last month, won his 1st race ever in the 15 lap Pro Stock feature.

In the Late Model 24 car feature, Andy Fries, from the pole, took the lead. By the 10th lap Fries was starting to lap some of the field. On lap 14 was a wreck-on the front stretch just past the flag stand. Cars were plowing into the wreck at speeds of over 100 mph. There were 12 cars involved, one half of the field. Luckily no one was hurt. Most of the cars were totaled. Towed from the wreck were the cars of Chris Harr, Jeff Miller, Brian Weyandt, Carl Billet, Larry Wright, Eric Zembower, Marvin Winters, Jody Yearick, Darras Deneen, and Wayne Johnson. On the restart Andy Fries went all the way under the green for the win. Behind Fries was Brent Smith, Dave Troutman, Todd Ritchie, Scott Rhodes, Bill VanMeter, Alan Sagi, Mike Altobelli, Dion LaSalle, Jack Pencil, Chuck Clise, Rick Singleton, Robbie oarlock, Chris Barr, Jeff Miller, Brian Weyandt, Carl Billet, Larry Wright, Eric Zembower, Marvin Winters, Jody Yearick, Darns Deneen, Wayne Johnson, arid Bob Salathe. Dave Bloss, Bill Phares, Mel Corley, and Neil Paugh did not start. Heat winners were Pencil, Salathe and Ritchey. Billet won the Consy.

A Hard Charger award of $100, in memory of race fan Ronnie Bobo, who lost his life Friday by friends Rick Bauer and Ray Vanetta to Alan Sagi, who started 24th and finished 7th.

In the Semi-late feature, Wade Peer led until lap 11, when Bob Gordon, who started 11th, took the lead and held off Peer and Brian Lowery for the win. Peer was 2nd, Lowery 3rd, followed by Bill Buchanan, Gary Kimmell, Andy Fertig, Wally Mowry, Jim Deneen, John Crowfis, Jr., Kelly Bechtel, Barry Willison, Allen Buckley, Mark Fost. Terry Benton did not start. Heat winners were Lowery and Buchanan.

The pro Stock feature went nonstop. Matt Sponaugle led flag to flag for the win. Behind Sponaugle was Ralph King, Kevin Weyandt, George Beckett, point leader Tom Humberson, Rodney Youmans, Jason Black, Jeff Detwiler, Daniel Cornman, Kevin Lint, John Whitfield, John Steward, Kelvyn Bernard, Bob Lewis, Bill Goss, Clinton Clark, Roy Whitfield, Ken Wilson, Rob Armentrout, David Rail and J.R. Bowers. Rick Wright did not start. Heat winners were Beckett and Humberson.

The Buckley’s Towing Jr. Fan Club winner was Ryan Hackett, of New Paris, PA. The Buckley’s towing bike winners were Trevor Sisler and Cassidy Emerick, and the Coke winner was Tyler Gehrdes.

The TriState Racing Photos Hard Charger was Bob Gorodon.

The next race is Sunday, July 25, during the Fair. Come to the fair, pay one price of $8.00 for the fair, and the races are free. Fair gates open at 2 p.m. and racing at 7 p.m. You can see the Late Models, the special race for Semi-Lates, the Cumberland/ Winchester Challenge, and the biggest race of the year for the Pure Stocks! Pro Stocks, the 20 lap Coors Lite Jr. Saville Memorial Race, with over $1,000 added to the purse. There is a special custom made trophy going to the winner being sponsored by Bill Goss and the family of the USA-1 Racing Team.